Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 2:07 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Not logged in as administrator (but I am)
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 7:55 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 5:22 am
Posts: 12
I have a Compaq SR1620NX (link is below). It was a customers whose harddrive was fried. I installed a new Western Digital HD and a fresh reinstall of OEM Windows XP Home. I loaded all Windows updates, Adobe Flash, Adobe Reader and Norton Internet Security 2009. I then went through the full system check before handing back to the customer and noticed that the sound wasn't working. I looked in the Device Manager and saw that (listed under "other devices") two items did not have drivers loaded (exclamation mark). They are "multimedia audio controller" and "SM bus controller". I went to the Compaq website and tried loading drivers listed there and had an error message saying that I cannot load these drivers because I am not logged on as the administrator. I am logged in as the administrator. I do not see any other areas where I am limited in what I can do or load so this is confusing. I have scoured some other boards and tried a few things but nothing seems to work. I guess here is my problem in a nutshell...

-I am logged in as administrator
-I am trying to load a needed program
-The program says that it won't load because I need to be an administrator
-Confusion ensues

Anyone with some suggestions or links to suggestions? Thanks in advance.

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/prod ... g=en&cc=us


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 9:23 am 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:26 am
Posts: 4755
Location: Dixon Springs, TN
I ran in to the same 'problem' a while back. This is how it is 'fixed':

Open the Start Menu, type cmd in the search box, and then press Ctrl+Shift+Enter to open cmd with Administrative rights. Type the following in the command prompt and press Enter:

net user administrator /active:yes

To assign a password to the Administrator account, type the following in the same command prompt and press Enter (replace "mypassword" with the desired password):

net user administrator mypassword

Adding a password to the Administrator account is not a requirement. However, adding the password to the Administrator account is a strongly recommended security measure. Do not forget that password.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.