Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 3:52 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Gaming on a virtual CD
PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 11:19 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:17 pm
Posts: 22
I would like to use my Game Cd on a virtual CD on my Hard drive.
I have already made a Virtual drive and imaged my Game with no problems but it keeps asking for my "original Cd not a backup".
I know I heard about doing this so I don't have to keep swapping the original back and forth. Can this be solved?
Thanx
David


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaming on a virtual CD
PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 11:43 am 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
ratboy2000 wrote:
I would like to use my Game Cd on a virtual CD on my Hard drive.
I have already made a Virtual drive and imaged my Game with no problems but it keeps asking for my "original Cd not a backup".
I know I heard about doing this so I don't have to keep swapping the original back and forth. Can this be solved?
Thanx
David


more info:
which game?
which OS?
which imaging software?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 8:11 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:44 am
Posts: 137
Most newer games won't run in virtual CDs.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaming on a virtual CD
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:05 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 11:30 am
Posts: 89
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
As cigar3tte indicated, more information would be helpful. I believe a lot of the newer games still run on virtual CDs. I use Alcohol 120% and haven't come across too many games where this doesn't work. I've played Doom3, Far Cry, and Splinter Cell Pandora Tomorrow this way.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Virtual CD
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:17 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:17 pm
Posts: 22
Yeh, I have used Alcohol 120% and it still asks for the original CD for Thief 3.
Not really a big deal since I play the game so much I just keep it in the CD Player, but you know, sometimes it's nice to have that edge.
Thanx
David


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virtual CD
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:45 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
ratboy2000 wrote:
Yeh, I have used Alcohol 120% and it still asks for the original CD for Thief 3.
Not really a big deal since I play the game so much I just keep it in the CD Player, but you know, sometimes it's nice to have that edge.
Thanx
David


look on forums with Alcohol users for specific settings when making the image. if you don't find a way, at least you should find out that it just won't work until maybe Alcohol gets updated.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:46 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:44 am
Posts: 137
Well, I already scratched my Warcraft 3 CD, but I was able to install it fine. It sucks to have a CD scratched just because the game asks for it every time :twisted:


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group