Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 2:26 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Opening multiple files opens multiple programs...
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 10:26 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 1:30 pm
Posts: 126
Location: West Plains, MO
Ok, here's my stupid problem. Before I reformatted my computer, if I highlighted, say, 10 jpegs and opened them, they would all open in one instance of Paintshop. But now, when I do the same thing, it opens up 10 seperate instances of PaintShop! Does anyone know where I can change this setting? I've got TweakUI on here, but it didn't look like there was anything to change it in there.
Thanks for any help in advance.

P.S. just in case it makes a difference, after the reformat (XP home) I installed every single Windows update, including SP2. The hardware specs probably don't matter, but let me know if you need them.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Opening multiple files opens multiple programs...
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 12:11 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
could this be an option set in PaintShop?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 1:00 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 1:30 pm
Posts: 126
Location: West Plains, MO
I checked through all of the preferences in Paintshop (and I've been using it for awhile, so I know where and what the options are), and the problem isn't limited to that program. Any files I try this with opens up in whatever program that they're associated with with the same results.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 1:08 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
RallyMK1 wrote:
I checked through all of the preferences in Paintshop (and I've been using it for awhile, so I know where and what the options are), and the problem isn't limited to that program. Any files I try this with opens up in whatever program that they're associated with with the same results.


i'll be waiting for a solution to this with you. 8)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 6:07 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 2:17 pm
Posts: 5315
Location: northwest BC
It sounds silly, I know, but could your mouse button or keyboard be sticking at some point, causing the system to read a click or keypress as multiple?
I don't mean the settings IN the os (but check them too) I mean a dirty keyboard or mouse.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 6:15 am 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
that kind of remind me. maybe the CTRL key or ALT key might be stuck? not necessarily physically, but maybe electronically.

i've seen cases where everything would act as if the CTRL key is being held. pressing it multiple times usually put it back to normal.

well, i tested opening MP3 files with CTRL, ALT, or the shift key being held, and it still doesn't open multiple instances of WinAmp to play them. so i dunno.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 6:27 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 1:30 pm
Posts: 126
Location: West Plains, MO
No, the keyboard and the mouse are fine, as they were the same ones I was using before I reformatted. Holding down CTRL while opening the files does the exact same thing... it opens up 11 PaintShops. Until I figure it out I'll just be opening them from within PaintShop. Maybe I'll just have to change my routine.... damn computers!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 6:30 am 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
RallyMK1 wrote:
No, the keyboard and the mouse are fine, as they were the same ones I was using before I reformatted. Holding down CTRL while opening the files does the exact same thing... it opens up 11 PaintShops. Until I figure it out I'll just be opening them from within PaintShop. Maybe I'll just have to change my routine.... damn computers!


it's only this one program doing it?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 9:19 am 
Team Member*
Team Member*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 1982
Location: FL
I know there is an option in windows somewhere, i will find out where, that allows you to open thing in a separate window or just stack them with in the program you are usingor i think it may just overwrite the window. I will have to get back to on this but i know it is in windows somewhere. 8)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:34 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:22 am
Posts: 26
Wiked_smart wrote:
I know there is an option in windows somewhere, i will find out where, that allows you to open thing in a separate window or just stack them with in the program you are usingor i think it may just overwrite the window. I will have to get back to on this but i know it is in windows somewhere. 8)


I think you're talking about explorer windows. I'm not sure that it will help in this situation. Of course I could be wrong... it happened once before..


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:50 am 
I'd rather be modding!
I'd rather be modding!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:47 pm
Posts: 3731
Location: Las Vegas
Eluj wrote:
Wiked_smart wrote:
I know there is an option in windows somewhere, i will find out where, that allows you to open thing in a separate window or just stack them with in the program you are usingor i think it may just overwrite the window. I will have to get back to on this but i know it is in windows somewhere. 8)


I think you're talking about explorer windows. I'm not sure that it will help in this situation. Of course I could be wrong... it happened once before..


No, There is an option someplace. I am having the same problem with word. Haven't found a solution yet. But I haven't been looking very hard either.

Manta


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 3:17 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 1:30 pm
Posts: 126
Location: West Plains, MO
In response to one of the questions above, the problem isn't just with one program (PaintShop), but it's the only one that matters at the moment. It's a work thing....


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 10:20 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 1:30 pm
Posts: 126
Location: West Plains, MO
Does anybody know the answer to this problem?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 1:38 pm 
Team Member*
Team Member*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 1982
Location: FL
RallyMK1 wrote:
Does anybody know the answer to this problem?

Rally i am looking but its not a full search i have probably done a 50% search so far i will keep looking don't worry.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 1:13 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 1:30 pm
Posts: 126
Location: West Plains, MO
Nevermind! My friend at work just figured it out. In explorer, go to tools, and then Folder Options, then click on the file types tab.
On mine, JPEG was set to Windows picture and fax viewer, and JPG was correctly set to PaintShop Pro. Switching JPG over fixed everything, and now I can just highlight the files I want, hit enter, and they all open up in PaintShop.
Thanks for the help you guys came up with, and I hope someone can use the solution I found.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 2:03 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
RallyMK1 wrote:
Nevermind! My friend at work just figured it out. In explorer, go to tools, and then Folder Options, then click on the file types tab.
On mine, JPEG was set to Windows picture and fax viewer, and JPG was correctly set to PaintShop Pro. Switching JPG over fixed everything, and now I can just highlight the files I want, hit enter, and they all open up in PaintShop.
Thanks for the help you guys came up with, and I hope someone can use the solution I found.


i thought other programs had the same problem.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.