Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:43 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Help ! Motherboard, etc. will not start at all !!!!
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 12:21 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:32 am
Posts: 223
Location: Orlando, Florida
first time upgrading motherboard, RAM and processor: hooked everything up, and nothing happens. What could be wrong ?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 12:22 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
You're grounding somewhere??

That's my best guess based on the info you provided.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 12:24 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:32 am
Posts: 223
Location: Orlando, Florida
furball146 wrote:
You're grounding somewhere??

That's my best guess based on the info you provided.


nothing powers up at all....it's totally dead, nothing !


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 12:29 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
forgot the power switch connector?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 12:31 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:32 am
Posts: 223
Location: Orlando, Florida
cigar3tte wrote:
forgot the power switch connector?


i don't think so...maybe I hooked it up wrong


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 12:38 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
newbiesteve wrote:
nothing powers up at all....it's totally dead, nothing !


Yea...and that's exactly what grounding would do.

Power connector isn't a bad idea either.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 12:41 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:32 am
Posts: 223
Location: Orlando, Florida
furball146 wrote:
newbiesteve wrote:
nothing powers up at all....it's totally dead, nothing !


Yea...and that's exactly what grounding would do.

Power connector isn't a bad idea either.


when i install the mobo onto the standoffs, the mobo directly touches the metal standoffs, right ?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 1:26 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:07 pm
Posts: 787
Location: look behind you...
particulars on the mobo, proc and mem, please.....

Ken_Campbell

Fold Until A Cure


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 1:43 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:32 am
Posts: 223
Location: Orlando, Florida
Brvhrt wrote:
particulars on the mobo, proc and mem, please.....

Ken_Campbell

Fold Until A Cure


FIC K8-800T motherboard for 64 bit, AMD Athlon 64 2800 processor, PNY 512 MB PC3200 DDR400.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 2:11 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:32 am
Posts: 223
Location: Orlando, Florida
newbiesteve wrote:
Brvhrt wrote:
particulars on the mobo, proc and mem, please.....

Ken_Campbell

Fold Until A Cure


FIC K8-800T motherboard for 64 bit, AMD Athlon 64 2800 processor, PNY 512 MB PC3200 DDR400.


ok I tried powering the mobo with only the fans attached and power switch attached. Nothing at all. I'm starting to think that 1) the mobo was bad or 2) I fried it accidentally. Oh well.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 3:05 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:07 pm
Posts: 787
Location: look behind you...
Did you get a mounting bracket for the heatsink? Some of the early on boards didnt have one and it caused shorts.

Ken

Fold Until A Cure


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 3:20 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Try reinstalling your mobo, making sure the screws are tight and triple checking your standoffs. Physically take your motherboard out and reinstall, don't just double check it by eye. You can also try booting it up outside of your case.

In addition, reseat your CPU and heatsink.

Lastly, triple check your headers.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 4:30 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
newbiesteve wrote:
when i install the mobo onto the standoffs, the mobo directly touches the metal standoffs, right ?


One woukld hope.

BUt that's not the only place this could happen.

I'd at least try to power it on..outside of the case, while it's resting on something non-conductive.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 5:03 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:32 am
Posts: 223
Location: Orlando, Florida
Brvhrt wrote:
Did you get a mounting bracket for the heatsink? Some of the early on boards didnt have one and it caused shorts.

Ken

Fold Until A Cure


I think so. This is a "brand new" board supposedly. I mounted the CPU correctly, I believe. I then applied Arctic Silver 5 thermal compound on top of the processor, and then mounted the heatsink and fan on top of it, making sure the brackets were secured.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 5:05 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:32 am
Posts: 223
Location: Orlando, Florida
furball146 wrote:
newbiesteve wrote:
when i install the mobo onto the standoffs, the mobo directly touches the metal standoffs, right ?


One woukld hope.

BUt that's not the only place this could happen.

I'd at least try to power it on..outside of the case, while it's resting on something non-conductive.


I did try to do that, great suggestion. Neither the CPU fan or the case fan would move. I am worried that I have fried the mobo by accident.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 5:06 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:32 am
Posts: 223
Location: Orlando, Florida
One4yu2c wrote:
Try reinstalling your mobo, making sure the screws are tight and triple checking your standoffs. Physically take your motherboard out and reinstall, don't just double check it by eye. You can also try booting it up outside of your case.

In addition, reseat your CPU and heatsink.

Lastly, triple check your headers.


dumb question: what are headers ?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 5:37 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
I was referring to where you plug your case's HDD LED, Power Switch, Reset Switch, and Speaker to the motherboard. If you have the power switch plugged in incorrectly, it will not power on when you hit the button.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 5:43 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:32 am
Posts: 223
Location: Orlando, Florida
One4yu2c wrote:
I was referring to where you plug your case's HDD LED, Power Switch, Reset Switch, and Speaker to the motherboard. If you have the power switch plugged in incorrectly, it will not power on when you hit the button.


OK, I am real unclear as to exactly how to do that. The schematic for the mobo was not real clear. The four switches are all on a very small panel.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 5:46 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:32 am
Posts: 223
Location: Orlando, Florida
newbiesteve wrote:
One4yu2c wrote:
I was referring to where you plug your case's HDD LED, Power Switch, Reset Switch, and Speaker to the motherboard. If you have the power switch plugged in incorrectly, it will not power on when you hit the button.


OK, I am real unclear as to exactly how to do that. The schematic for the mobo was not real clear. The four switches are all on a very small panel.


http://www.fic.com.tw/product/motherboa ... -800t.aspx


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 6:13 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Image

Doesn't look like FIC has an online manual for that mobo :?

In any event, remove everything else and concentrate on getting the Power switch plugged into the correct spot. If it's not, you can't turn your system on.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.