Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:45 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Have Windows 3.1 hard drive....how to run on P3-based XP PC?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 3:11 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 2:11 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Rocklin, CA
I have a slave drive (250mb) with Windows 3.1 on it. I need to run 3.1 due to the fact XP doesn't support legacy ISA slots for my rom burner ISA card. Thus, I'd like to run on a P3 450-based XP system on ASUS A2B mobo.

I'd like to boot off the slave drive, however, how can I properly run the drive off of the BIOS? I tried once, and only got a blank screen. Something to do with the higher level 32-bit features on the BIOS? The IDE is set to auto detect.

Also, how can i configure XP to give me a dual boot menu to use this drive to boot 3.1 instead of the c: root (XP)? So I don't have to switch cables between drives...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 4:35 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
Have you tried starting things with a win /i386??

I'm going to suspect there's going to some sort of flag that the win command is going to need to run right.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have Windows 3.1 hard drive....how to run on P3-based XP
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 4:46 pm 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
bondavi wrote:
I have a slave drive (250mb) with Windows 3.1 on it. I need to run 3.1 due to the fact XP doesn't support legacy ISA slots for my rom burner ISA card. Thus, I'd like to run on a P3 450-based XP system on ASUS A2B mobo.

I'd like to boot off the slave drive, however, how can I properly run the drive off of the BIOS? I tried once, and only got a blank screen. Something to do with the higher level 32-bit features on the BIOS? The IDE is set to auto detect.

Also, how can i configure XP to give me a dual boot menu to use this drive to boot 3.1 instead of the c: root (XP)? So I don't have to switch cables between drives...


Pretty complicated stuff you want to do for the benefits. I know this isn't what you asked but my advice is at least upgrade to win98SE which is already at the end of it's product life and does still support ISA slots. It can be dual booted with XP provided 98 is installed first. Win98 would be C. drive and XP would be another drive letter, probably E. as the CD-ROM might be D. Doesn't matter much which at this point.

WinXP does support ISA slots. It may not support whatever card you are trying to put in it which you did not give any info on.

Get rid of the 250 meg drive. 40 gig drives can be had for as little as $40. A CD will hold 3 times the data that old drive will. It's a liability not worth the time or effort you will be putting into it.

Just my opinion. :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 6:33 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:41 am
Posts: 17
Why not WIN 2000 Pro it supports ISA and is perfect for things like this


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 8:47 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 2496
Location: Wizzing into the abyss
I believe you will need a boot loader that allows you to choose which os to boot first










to the mods, thanks for the avatar :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 1:59 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:41 am
Posts: 17
Yes but he wouldn't need 3.1 if he ran 2000 Pro. The card in his machine would probably be supported in it. He would have to check of course but more than likely it would be supported. 2000 pro was really good for ISA support


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 2:35 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 2496
Location: Wizzing into the abyss
I agree, 2k would be by far the better option :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:36 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:41 am
Posts: 17
Dump the 3.1 convert to windows 2000 only and you should be good. Just verify your card is compatible with 2K


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.