Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:34 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ICS for xp question
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 6:45 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 180
Location: USA
Hi
i have two computer that are networked together via a hub.. my main computer is p4 2.8 with 1 gb of memory and is running win xp pro. i also have another computer that has win 2k server installed. i use the win 2k for studying (trying to get my mcse). Win 2k as AD installed dns, dhcp etc...etc.... win xp has a 56k connection to the internet...win 2k doesn't even have a modem installed....i am trying to share the dial up internet connection from win xp to win 2k server....but from what i can understand i can not use ICS from win xp to win 2k....like i said xp has to be the one with the internet connection.....i could install a modem in the 2k computer but now i must know how to do it...it's a lil embarrassing too, because i am studying for this stuff and i can't figure it out... :oops:
anyway thanx


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:39 pm 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Make sure ICS is only enabled on the host computer not the W2K machine.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:57 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 180
Location: USA
any other suggestions???


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 5:04 pm 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
teamwork1999 wrote:
any other suggestions???
Run the network setup wizard on the XP machine. It will offer to make a setup disk for another computer when it finishes. Make the disk and use it on the Win2000 machine. It should make all the settings required to use ICS.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 7:08 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 180
Location: USA
i did that and i am told that ics does not work on win 2k..if you go to help within windows you will read the same thing...or at least that's my understanding.....it's a lil late right now but tomorrow i'll try to uninstall dhcp and i'll try withou that..


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 7:34 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:27 pm
Posts: 1115
Location: Binghamton University
you need to go into the properties of the network adapter of your win2k machine. in the tcp/ip settings, make sure that the default gateway is the ip address of your xp machine, and that both machines have different ip addresses, but the same subnet mask.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group