Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 10:37 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Fresh install and pop up adds everywhere!!
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 12:52 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 2:11 pm
Posts: 31
Hi,

Last night i formatted my computer and re installed XP pro, I was expecting everything to go smoothly and it did but once i set up my motherboard drivers vid card drivers etc etc , everything went downhill.


As soon as i got my internet connection up i began getting pop up adds anything from porn, gay porn, adds for pop up blockers etc etc u name it it comes up.

I have ran Spybot quite a number of times and it has deleted what it comes across but i still get the same crap again and again. Spybot keeps finding something called DSO exploit, and i delete it but it turns up again no matter what. I am lost to be honest.


My system is as follows

XP pro with SP1
2500+ xp
1gb kingmax 433mhz ddr ram
pioneer dvd
liteon 52xburner
NEC 2510a
120gb WD SE
9600XT Sapphire
Asus A7n8x-E deluxe


the ram is 2x 256mb and 1 512mb modules running in dual channel, and the NEC dvd burner is brand new.

I have downloaded quite a number of patches through Windows update and nothing has helped yet.

Also these pop ups come out of nowhere on a fresh install, i mean the first time i connect to the net i get this crap, what can be causing this?


I am using the Nforce drivers that came with the motherboard seeing how the latest ones dont sit well with my system and i am using the 4.9 beta catalyst drivers.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 5:21 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:34 am
Posts: 78
Location: Virginia
Since its a fresh image you should have no problems formatting again. Before you do download SP2 ad-aware, Mobo drivers, and spy bot onto disk. Then before you let your computer connect to the network install all thoes patches and updates.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 6:32 am 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
When you reinstall you need to install your anti-virus program, enable the winXP firewall, install the sasser patch and the Blaster patch before you hook up to the net. Go to Windows update for all the criticals before you go anywhere else. Get your virus program updated next. Microsoft has an update CD you can order for free if you want to wait a few days.

These are links to the sasser and blaster patches. Download them on someone elses machine if you can't get them on yours. Burn to a CD and install them on your machine before you connect to net.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 7:10 am 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
try using mozilla firefox browser, way better than IE and it has its own built-in popup killer which works really good. ive been using firefox and its way better than IE. also download the new version of adware, the SE version from www.majorgeeks.com and install the program. run it and let adware get rid of garbage.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:54 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 2:11 pm
Posts: 31
Thanks for the suggestions, ill ive dled those patches and cleaned up my registry aswell as get spybot to work as it should.


When i installed XP it said something about the firewall and i checked no for it how would i go and re enable it?


thanks again.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:12 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 11:30 am
Posts: 89
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Kdiddy wrote:
When i installed XP it said something about the firewall and i checked no for it how would i go and re enable it?

The easiest way is to install SP2. If you don't have SP2 you can go to your network properties and then the Advanced tab. There should be the firewall information.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 5:22 pm 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Kdiddy wrote:
Thanks for the suggestions, ill ive dled those patches and cleaned up my registry aswell as get spybot to work as it should.


When i installed XP it said something about the firewall and i checked no for it how would i go and re enable it?


thanks again.


Control Panel, network connections,right click on local area connection, properties, advanced.

If you are using a dial-up modem it may be something in the network connections besides local area connection but you will still have to click on properties and advanced.

Let me know if you found it or not.

By the way even if you downloaded the patches and installed them you may have to clean the sasser or blaster worms off your system. The fixes and instructions on how to do this are in the link below.

http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/index.html


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:51 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 2:11 pm
Posts: 31
I just formatted my computer again and installed those patches and a bunch of other crap before i got connected to the internet aswell as enabling the firewall.


I have 1 last question, I use bitorrent, the Azureus client to be specific and when i test the 6881 port i get a NAT error, how would i go about fixing this problem.


Thanks again.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:13 am 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Kdiddy wrote:


I have 1 last question, I use bitorrent, the Azureus client to be specific and when i test the 6881 port i get a NAT error, how would i go about fixing this problem.


Thanks again.


I don't use bit torrent. You will have to get that answer from someone else. Sorry.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 10:49 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 326
Location: Miami, Fl
install bazooka. That program finds many stuffs that other miss. The only thing is tha u have to manually remove the key in regedit.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:15 pm 
Team Member*
Team Member*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 1982
Location: FL
there is a fix for it it is an internet option or somthing like that as soon as i get the answer i will post it but i wanted to let you know there is a fix b/c i had the same issue but, and i hate to say this, aol computer check up fixed it for me automatically i will get the process from them since my mind has left me. sorry


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 2:28 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 146
Trainlogan wrote:
Since its a fresh image you should have no problems formatting again. Before you do download SP2 ad-aware, Mobo drivers, and spy bot onto disk. Then before you let your computer connect to the network install all thoes patches and updates.


Do what this man said and add Zone Alarm and Free Eval copy of Norton Antivirus 2004. Zone Alarm will keep hackers at bay while SpyBot make sure spams won't came. Ad-ware cleans much better than SpyBot but its free version doesn't have real time protection :( . Norton should clean the virus for 15 days and you need to download the lastest virus definition from download.com or just update it. From experience, I can actually reformat 1 small partition to include Norton and keep using it forever. I just need to reformat that partition every 15 days. For my computer, I put Norton demo softwares ( Antivirus, Firewall, Spam Protection, and all the other goodies) on one of my 8 external hard-drives and just reformat that one in addition to cleaning the registry (may not be neccessary for some software).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 2:30 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 146
Whatever you do, don't install Service Pack 2 yet. It will mess up your Zone Alarm and tons of other stuffs needed to protect your PC. Since MS can't protect itself, you will need a boat load of software to do Gate's dirty work.

If you need something reliable, go with Red Hat Linux.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 3:35 pm 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Juan Mendez wrote:
Whatever you do, don't install Service Pack 2 yet. It will mess up your Zone Alarm and tons of other stuffs needed to protect your PC. Since MS can't protect itself, you will need a boat load of software to do Gate's dirty work.

If you need something reliable, go with Red Hat Linux.


I installed it on two computers with Zone Alarm and had no problems. You need to reevaluate your techniques. Just make sure you turn off Zone Alarm and your antivirus program during the sp2 update.

The new firewall is good enough you could do without Zone Alarm anyway.

Everyone else, don't let preachers of doom keep you from the benefits of XPSP2. Image your drive or backup your important files and go for the gusto!! :D


Last edited by Nightcrawler on Wed Aug 25, 2004 6:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 1:05 am 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:07 pm
Posts: 787
Location: look behind you...
Sounds like you have got a lot of great advise, and some of it I must admit, is a bit over my head......well, I'm vertically challenged anyway so that isnt anything new....but anyway, I just have one question of you.
When you reloaded your OS was it one you purchased? or a (ahem) copy?
Now I know that we are all upstanding citizens here at the MPC forum and all (cough-cough) but if it were a copy it might explain why youre getting all these pop-up adds. You're just reloading crap thats on the install cd.

Peace....

[b]Fold Until A Cure


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 6:45 am 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Brvhrt wrote:
Sounds like you have got a lot of great advise, and some of it I must admit, is a bit over my head......well, I'm vertically challenged anyway so that isnt anything new....but anyway, I just have one question of you.
When you reloaded your OS was it one you purchased? or a (ahem) copy?
Now I know that we are all upstanding citizens here at the MPC forum and all (cough-cough) but if it were a copy it might explain why youre getting all these pop-up adds. You're just reloading crap thats on the install cd.

Peace....

[b]Fold Until A Cure


No one should be using a copy but to be honest that has no bearing on virii and pop-up ads unless windows update refuses to work because of a banned key. I'm thinking he has a legit version of windows because these problems only surfaced after a reinstall where he forgot to update his machine with the blaster and sasser patches and turn on the firewall before he connected to the net.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 7:52 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 146
No true friend would give another friend a sick copy. I think someone got a hold of his IPs and would attack his machine whenever he's on. What he needs is a lot of protection software before entering the net.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 7:54 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 146
ZoneAlarm doesn't work on SP2. MS admits its fault along with the failure to make SP2 compatible with MS own softwares.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:00 am 
Team Member*
Team Member*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 1982
Location: FL
Aright i found what i was looking for, try this one open your internet properties window and click on thesecurity tab then click custimize scroll down until you see the option for pop-up blocker and enable it. This should fix your isse because by defualt this is not on.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:49 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 146
The Wonders of Win XP SP2:

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759,1639373,00.asp

There are tons more sites indicating SP2 is no where near complete, but Gate still want it out and let us the consumers do his dirty work. MS isn't free like Linux so not many people would be crazy enough to work for free while fatty down the street get rich.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group