Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 9:50 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Need an adapter for D-Sub 3 row to 2 row.
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 5:02 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:42 am
Posts: 13
I just recently purchased an old RGB monitor. One of it's inputs is a 15 pin D-Sub that is 2 rows, but the cable I'm using is a 15 pin that is 3 rows (which is how I've always seen these cables). Is there an adapter I can get that will switch this over? I tried doing search but can't seem to find anything (I'm probably just not using the right terminology).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need an adapter for D-Sub 3 row to 2 row.
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 5:18 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5251
There's DA-15 to VGA converter, but both ends are male. My ass-pull guess is that the cable coming out of the monitor is male, so you'll also need a DA-15 gender changer for it to work. While they call it a DB-15, the actual connector is DA-15... according to Wikipedia anyway.

Gotta love sex-changing your cables and connectors ;)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need an adapter for D-Sub 3 row to 2 row.
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 5:28 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:42 am
Posts: 13
Actually the connection at the monitor is female, so that adapter is perfect! Thanks for the help.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need an adapter for D-Sub 3 row to 2 row.
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 5:49 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5251
Actually I should make note of something, the converter is specifically for a Mac RGB monitor to VGA. I'll see if I can dig up something more 1-to-1.

But if you know for certain the monitor follows this pinout ( second post at http://pinouts.ru/forum/index.php?topic=4982.0 ), then you should be good.

EDIT: My searches are turning up either nothing or for the Mac adapter. I guess you'll have to take a chance.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need an adapter for D-Sub 3 row to 2 row.
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 6:14 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:42 am
Posts: 13
Hrmm...not sure if that'll work then. According to the manual here is the pin layout:

1 - Red
2 - Green
3 - Blue
4 - H/COMP-SYNC
5 - V-SYNC
6 - *RESERVE* N.C.
7 - *RESERVE* N.C.
8 - *RESERVE* N.C.
9 - GND (RED)
10 - GND (GREEN)
11 - GND (BLUE)
12 - H/COMP-SYNC TTL
13 - V-SYNC TTL
14 - *RESERVE* N.C.
15 - *RESERVE* N.C.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need an adapter for D-Sub 3 row to 2 row.
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 7:39 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5251
Oh dear, this is a weird connector. Yeah, the Mac one won't work, and you're going to have to jerry rig something.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need an adapter for D-Sub 3 row to 2 row.
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 8:11 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:42 am
Posts: 13
I'm wondering if it's possible to buy the end I need for the monitor, cut off the end of the VGA cable and rewire it to the new end. The only thing that confuses me, is looking at the pin layout of a regular VGA cable, there are a lot of different pins that don't do the same thing as the pins on my monitor.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need an adapter for D-Sub 3 row to 2 row.
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 11:36 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5251
The bare minimum I believe you need for VGA is just the red, blue, green signals (and their grounds) and the H/V sync lines. The other ones are just for ID. So going by what you have, 1-5 and 9-11 are the signals you need to use.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need an adapter for D-Sub 3 row to 2 row.
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 9:57 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:37 am
Posts: 720
Location: Rest in Peace... Stratplan & Whitecree & Thomasvjones
You said that one of the input connectors was the d-sub connector with only 9 pins.

Can you tell us what the other input connectors are?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need an adapter for D-Sub 3 row to 2 row.
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 1:00 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:42 am
Posts: 13
Not quite sure what you mean, I didn't mention anything about 9 pins. Can you clarify?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need an adapter for D-Sub 3 row to 2 row.
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 2:10 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5251
Do you have the model of the monitor or equipment? I think there's more you need to wire up than I thought.

Also I think the person misread something or whatever.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need an adapter for D-Sub 3 row to 2 row.
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 3:05 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:42 am
Posts: 13
It's a Mitsubishi MegaView Pro 37 (XC-3730C). I'm wanting to hook up my Wii to it with component cables, but since it doesn't have input for those cables, I'm using a Component to VGA converter. I have a scanned copy of the manual if you're interested. There is also an RGB hookup through BNC cables, but I'm planning on using that one with a SCART switch for my older retro consoles.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need an adapter for D-Sub 3 row to 2 row.
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 4:23 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5251
I found a product sheet for the monitor. I'd go with the BNC to VGA for the highest probability this will work. Though the sheet said it supports the Macintosh II and Quadra display connections, so the one I listed earlier may work.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need an adapter for D-Sub 3 row to 2 row.
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 6:07 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:42 am
Posts: 13
Well I need the BNC inputs for my other, older consoles, so I can't use that one, unless I want to keep switching the cables out, which I'm trying to keep from doing. Also, if I were to use BNC, then I wouldn't need to even worry about VGA, as I would just get a component to BNC converter box and be done with it (BTW, those boxes are way too expensive, which is why I went the VGA route). The previous owner of this monitor gave me a link to this forum: http://nfggames.com/forum2/index.php?topic=55.0 which seems to confirm that the adapter will not work, and it looks like I'll just have to rewire the end of a VGA cable. Fortunately I know a guy who is pretty good doing that kind of stuff, so it should hopefully work out.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group