Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 5:47 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Problem with starting up the new computer I built
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2014 1:14 pm 

Hello everyone. I don't know if anyone has had any similar situations as mine. I'm very new to building computers. Last night was the first computer I ever built. Right now I'm running into a lot of problems. When I press the on button a green light inside the computer turns on. However, nothing is running. When I press the direct key button on my computer the fans and everything is turned on. The computer acknowledges my keyboard and my CDROM. I have a monitor connected to my computer that says that there is no signal coming from my computer and that I should press some keys on my keyboard to get it to work. I tried putting the Windows 8.1 CDROM in and I cannot get Windows to run. Does this problem sound familiar to anyone? I have an Asus motherboard and a bunch of Corsair parts as well. Thank you for your time.

Post subject: Re: Problem with starting up the new computer I built
PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 11:15 am 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250

Location: Sittin' downtown at the railway station, one toke over the line.
A little more information about your computer would help. Like, what is your processor, motherboard, RAM, video card (if present), storage drive (HDD/SSD), power supply.

Did you install the CPU yourself? Are you certain it was seated properly? Did you use thermal compound when attaching the CPU cooler?
Is your monitor connected using any type of adapter?

Does the computer issue any beeps when you try to boot it? If so read your motherboard manual (or find it online) and read about the beep codes or POST codes. It should give you an indication of the problem. No beeps?