Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:40 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: GTX 680 SC Signature 2 losing monitor signal
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 8:10 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:33 am
Posts: 35
I'm wondering if anyone else is seeing an issue like this. I'm running a 24" monitor on HDMI and a 22" monitor on DVI-D. I'm running windows 7 64-bit with 16 GB of RAM and an i7-3770K processor. the system will boot properly and run everything (games, movies, etc) without a problem. However, when coming out of sleep mode, either just the 22" on the DVI port will com on, or neither monitor comes back on. usually, I will just unplug the monitors and then reconnect them, and things will go back to normal. Other times I get a BSOD and the system reboots. This all started when I the NVIDIA GeForce Experience software came out and I installed a third drive in my system. I'm using a Cooler Master 700 watt PSU, so I wouldn't think that adding a drive would tax it.

I've checked the event logs and have only come across one known system event at a time when this happened. Here is what I'm getting:

EventData

SleepTime 2014-03-31T16:28:20.199036100Z
WakeTime 2014-04-01T14:15:48.436454000Z
SleepDuration 4144
WakeDuration 7936
DriverInitDuration 7518
BiosInitDuration 397
HiberWriteDuration 0
HiberReadDuration 0
HiberPagesWritten 0
Attributes 20736
TargetState 4
EffectiveState 4
WakeSourceType 4
WakeSourceTextLength 12
WakeSourceText USB Root Hub
WakeTimerOwnerLength 0
WakeTimerContextLength 0
WakeTimerOwner
WakeTimerContext

I don't know enough to see anything in there.

I've been looking for a way to check the ports on the 680, but so far can't find anything. I've switched out both cables without any success and reseated the card. I've even switched the monitors to the other ports to see if that made a difference, not that I expected it to. The card is still in warranty, I'm just not sure if an RMA is warranted at this time. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Kevin


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GTX 680 SC Signature 2 losing monitor signal
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 5:56 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 5:48 am
Posts: 17
We have a very similar rig. I also am running a i7 3770k with Win 7 64bit, 16GB of 1600MHz Crucial RAM, and a EVGA GTX 680 sig. 2 Superclocked card. I have two 22" monitors, one LG and one Samsung (both at 60Hz, 1920x1080). The LG is DVI-D connected, and the Samsung is HDMI. I currently have three drives (two SSDs and a Hitachi 1TB HDD) and I am using a Corsair TX650 watt PSU.

I never use sleep mode and have it turned off, but I'm having absolutely no issues at all with my rig or card. I would start checking one thing at a time. First disconnect one of the monitors and see if it does it with only one monitor (and try them both). Also I have even ran into issues with bad cables before - so I would double check them as well.

And turn off the sleep mode and run some diagnostics and see what happens when you stress your system out. I would run Memtest overnight and check the RAM as well.

Also, I do remember having a few issues with GeForce Experience and uninstalling it. I never BSOD'ed, but it was using heavy resources and I just didn't like it. I would rather adjust in-game settings myself. So you might try removing Experience and all its associated processes and services and see if you have the same effect when exiting sleep mode.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GTX 680 SC Signature 2 losing monitor signal
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 6:57 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5283
Uninstall the GeForce Experience first, since that seems to be when these problems started. I find the program useless anyway, just set the graphical options to your games on maximum and lower as necessary.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GTX 680 SC Signature 2 losing monitor signal
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 8:19 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:33 am
Posts: 35
Thanks for the replies. Uninstalling the GFE didn't make a difference. I'm going to run try stressing the system next, since I have to find my other cables. I'll let you know what happens.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GTX 680 SC Signature 2 losing monitor signal
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:05 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:17 pm
Posts: 859
Location: Phoenix, AZ
kevt13 wrote:
....Other times I get a BSOD and the system reboots. ...

What are the BSODs? Also turn off the automatic reboot after error which should be off by default post-XP.

Lord, I hate sleep problems.
<template . .. unfortunately strips HTML code so some links and formatting missing. Got to run so I don't have time to edit>
Sleep mode (or Standby) problems are common. Either it won't go to sleep or it won't wake up.

If it is not waking up, presumably you have pressed the power button, or pressed one of the keyboard keys or moved or clicked the mouse with no wake-up response.

Sleep mode involves the OS, the BIOS (and ACPI, now v.5.0) or UEFI, the SMBus or PMBus (a rudimentary but important motherboard chip), your RAM (Sleep mode is also known by STR = suspend to RAM) and the PSU. It is possible an app or driver can interfere. Additionally, AC or battery power in a laptop effects the sleep mode response.

Additionally power manager, screen savers, network monitoring manager are potentially involved. As well as USB port monitoring and keyboard and mouse. And 3rd Party apps can be involved.

I update the BIOS to the latest version. Dropping BIOS values to optimal default values may fix a sleep problem. Note: Overclocking can screw up sleep mode--in fact overclockers/gamers may deliberately disable it [h/t TheSlakey].

In BIOS you should turn off any sleep mode settings. It is better to allow Windows to handle it.

I turn off any BIOS setting that may interfere: Wake on LAN (unless the client uses it), Wake on any other feature unless the client uses it (Usually Wake on Keyboard or Mouse if present is OK to be left on, but can be temporarily disabled for diagnostic purposes.). But you should test with a known working keyboard and mouse and make sure sensitivity is not set so high that the mouse is waking on vibrations.

Reset the BIOS/CMOS via the procedures outlined in the MB manual.

Unfortunately short of replacing it, a PSU really can't be evaluated except in a lab. PSU ATX12V revisions 1.3, 2.01 and 2.3 added updates (generally to the +5VSB) that effect standby/sleep waking modes so the newer the standard complied with by the PSU is potentially for the better. If you use a known good spare PSU to test make sure it is a modern PSU that meets the +5VSB (stand-by) power standard of 2.5A or more. [h/t Scott Mueller]

I make sure the OS is up to date.

Video card may not support sleep: update driver.

Update the mouse and/ or touchpad driver(s) and check their optional settings. Check any keyboard settings (if any) as well.

I update the network and wifi drivers. And then check their settings with respect to power saving modes and wake modes. Disabling where possible. Wifi and networking apps--especially those that come with wifi routers--have been known to cause sleep/hibernate issues and steal serious CPU cycles.

I generally try to ascertain the status of all apps above with respect to sleep state management. Obviously power manager is what controls waking and sleeping. I usually disable hard drive shutdown. They will shut down without Windows' order and in my experience they often will not turn back on (without a reboot) if Windows orders them to turn off. Assuming this is a Windows OS, you can boot from a Ubuntu (or other flavor) LiveCD or a HDD with a clean install of your Windows OS version to rule out any apps and some drivers (all drivers and apps with a LiveCD). You can update all of your drivers.

You should not use screen savers. Blanking the screen in power manager actually lowers power use and is preferable to a screen saver. If you absolutely must show a rotating collage of your kids or pets, then disable your screen saver temporarily. If it is causing the problems consider updating the screen saver or choosing a new one.

Check that hibernate (S4) is not a problem. If the drive gets too full it can interfere with hibernate because the file is so big. And coming out of hibernate is a lot slower than standby (S3), and S3 may work better in some implementations. Low energy, wake (S5) modes (aka G2) [not supported by XP] where no RAM storage but PC can wake from input from the keyboard, clock, modem, LAN, or external device.

You can boot up and run memtest86 memory diagnostic app to test your RAM. It is also possible running non-standard RAM at non-standard voltages or speeds may account for sleep mode problems.

If that passes, try a single RAM stick. Then try another. Try it in different slots.

Though I don't think it would cause a failure to come out of hibernate, a fragmented hibernation file (which is huge) can delay coming out of hibernation. Set up a defrag with MS' page defrag on the next boot. But this is for XP, not sure if it works on Vista/Win 7 or if it is even needed on these OS'. Usually, unless a drive is fairly full, hibernation defragmentation is not a problem as there is plenty of space to write the file.

Any app that does periodic polling may be responsible for waking a system up, or an app that is loaded (startup?) that is set to wake the system up at a set time.

Finally when troubleshooting disconnect ANY external devices to determine if they are responsible, especially if they are powered by the port. If it turns out to be an external device try updating its device driver and failing that report the problem to the device manufacturer's tech support. XP may have trouble either entering a programmed sleep mode (S3) or resuming from it with USB (or other) devices plugged in. This has been greatly corrected in Vista/Win7.

There is, however, a way to modify the reset behavior of a host controller in order to resolve this issue for those non-USB2-spec-compliant devices: changing the ForceHCResetOnResume registry key for each controller in the system as described in KB article 928631. Unfortunately, this will screw up any USB2 devices that are compliant so its usefulness is a trial and error.

Turn off hard drive shutoff after time period to "never." Let the hard drives shut themselves off without Windows control.

In the end, a bad motherboard may be to blame after ruling out all the above.

Sleep Mode MS FAQs for Win7

Sleep mode and USB devices

PassMark Sleeper testing app to test Standby/Sleep mode

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 10%29.aspx
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/841858
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 85%29.aspx
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff564571.aspx
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 10%29.aspx
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/docu ... =c01853693
http://lifehacker.com/5260396/hidden-wi ... e-problems definitely a developer tool

Quick Guide for last wake-up (Does not show Time or Date)

1. http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/12 ... mmand.html

Full Guide wake-up source showing (Date and Time) in event viewer

2.http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/17 ... r-log.html
-----------------------------
[could a faulty HDD cause sleep mode failures...I think so]

Three things to try.

1) Open a command Prompt by right clicking and select 'Run as Administrator'
and then at the command prompt type: chkdsk /f /r then press the enter key.


If prompted to schedule the volume to be checked the next time the system restarts,
enter: y


Also if you know the manufacture of your hard drive you can download their diagnostic software.


Another utility: SpeedFan has an online health analysis feature
(SMART tab) for hard drives. It will show how your drives
compares with other drives of the same make and model.
http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php


=====================================================================


2) Run the SFC /SCANNOW command. This will check and repair if necessary any critical Windows system files.


Click on Start/All programs/Accessories then
Right click on Command Prompt option and select 'Run as administrator'.
(or "Safe Mode" open a Command prompt)
At the command prompt enter: SFC /SCANNOW


Windows 7 - SFC SCANNOW Command - System File Checker
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/15 ... ecker.html


How to use the System File Checker tool to troubleshoot missing or corrupted system files on Windows Vista or on Windows 7
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929833

How to analyze the log file entries that the Microsoft Windows Resource Checker (SFC.exe) program generates in Windows Vista:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/928228

3) Leave the laptop connected to AC power and then try sleep mode. Does it have the same problem?

---------------------------

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/For ... 748623c34/

http://www.sevenforums.com/performance- ... e-fix.html

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 10%29.aspx

-----------------------------------

Wake problems:
http://www.techsupportalert.com/content ... waking.htm


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GTX 680 SC Signature 2 losing monitor signal
PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:37 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:33 am
Posts: 35
So here is what I have. I ran MemTest 86+ for a good 10 hours and had no errors. I then ran Prime95 for 8hours and 37 minutes with no warnings or errors. I've switched out cables on both monitors. I've switched the HDMI and DVI-D cables between the two monitors, so that the 22" was connected to HDMI and the 24" was connected to the DVI-D. I've had the system come out of sleep mode with each of the monitors connected separately.

I haven't had a chance to open the system up again and disconnect it, but I'm thinking the drive I installed has to be causing some kind of issue, even though all the hardware checks out. It's the only other thing that I can think of. Or the card is going bad. Once I've had a chance to disconnect the drive, I'll post an update. Thanks again.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GTX 680 SC Signature 2 losing monitor signal
PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2014 9:22 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:33 am
Posts: 35
Sooooooo, I unplugged the drive I had installed and the system has come out of sleep mode three times without an issue. Both monitors turn right on. I'm at a loss for this one. Any ideas?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GTX 680 SC Signature 2 losing monitor signal
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 11:40 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:33 am
Posts: 35
I figured out the problem, and want to kick myself in the head. I had the drive, which was sata2 plugged into a sata3 port on the motherboard. *sigh* The system comes out of sleep mode just fine now that I plugged the drive into a sata2 port.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.