Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 3:13 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3TB's Partitioned As NTFS With MBR Out There?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 4:57 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 6:45 pm
Posts: 13
Guys,

Windows 7 Pro SP1 64-Bit with an ASRock P67 PRO3 (B3) MoBo

that has a UEFI BIOS, i5-2500K and Corsair Vengeance 16 Gigs.


My C, D and E partitions are on a 120 GB NTFS SSD with a MBR.

My present STORAGE HDD is a 2TB Toshiba with a MBR.


I recently purchased a Toshiba PH3300U-1I72 3TB to replace the 2TB.


I always Ghost with DOS Bootable CDs I make with custom

Autoexec.bat files I write, never Windows.

I found out from Symantec that Ghost has issues with GPT.


I found a way to make my 3TB FULLY accessible and set as MBR.

It's Acronis True Image, aka Seagates DiskWizard aka WD's version

of DiskWizard. It puts an "Extended Capacity Manager" in the boot

sector so you get one 2.1TB and one 700+GB partition, BOTH MBR.

See: Seagate DiscWizard CloneDisc for drives larger than 3TB_Part-2

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TCLGfj1LSmI


The reason that I'm posting this is to get feedback from anyone who

has used these programs to see if the 3TBers work as any other HDD

would or are there any quirks that have come up since partitioning

your 3TB?

Please post to me.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Big Al


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3TB's Partitioned As NTFS With MBR Out There?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 9:51 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:17 pm
Posts: 856
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This is an old trick (literally going back to the DOS days when disk partition limit problems had previously been hit). It works fine as long as you don't mind your >2Tb drives being carved in two to four partitions. I suppose it depends upon how it does it.

I'm just not sure with your setup why a GPT formatted drive is not recognized by Win7Pro on a P67 MB with up to date BIOS revision, chipset and SATA/RAID drivers.

Unless you cannot have a mix of MBR and GPT drives on the same PC or controller???? I see that in order to do this the boot drive needs be GPT.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group