Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 11:48 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: hard disk problem?
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 10:31 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 5:09 pm
Posts: 275
Location: NC
Starting yesterday my computer has been extremely slow. When I'm playing a game or using program that makes noise, I get some kind of reverb or background static. Then on occasion it would randomly reboot, giving me message when it came back up. Usually something about Windows didn't close properly, due to hard drive error. Today it hasn't been rebooting, but Windows keeps sending me message, hard drive is failing, please back up now, etc. The Intel Rapid storage technology opened showing me some information. About failing hard drive, for some I can't get it to open right now.

Ok, first off is this a legitimate error? Or have I got some kind of bug, I have ran Malware and Superantispyware. Both only finding some tracking cookies. I have never had a HD failure. Right now I have not done a backup yet.


Some system info:
NZXT Hades case
gigabyte MB p55m-ud2
Intel i5-750
Radeon 5770
corsair 550w PS
Gskill 4gbx2 DDR3-1600
HD Seagate Barracuda 7200 1tb


Please help and thank you


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hard disk problem?
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 10:51 am 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:26 am
Posts: 4748
Location: Dixon Springs, TN
I've had a couple of hard drives fail on me. Backup now. Don't wait as you might not be able to the next time you start the pc.
Then find some diagnostic software for your drive and test it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hard disk problem?
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:34 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5398
I'd do a backup just in case. However, just because I'm paranoid and it's happened to me before, what's your PSU? I had a PSU go bad that masked itself as a hard drive dying.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hard disk problem?
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:56 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 5:09 pm
Posts: 275
Location: NC
I posted it in first message. But I have a Corsair 550w power supply. Another question, when I backup my info, if original HD crashes. Can I use that HD as main HD, or how does that work?

Thank you


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hard disk problem?
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 1:40 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:17 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Phoenix, AZ
jamburger wrote:
I posted it in first message. But I have a Corsair 550w power supply. Another question, when I backup my info, if original HD crashes. Can I use that HD as main HD, or how does that work?

Thank you

I agree, the first step should be a image backup. You would back up to another drive. If the drive was blank, you could image to it (make it a mirror image and therefor bootable (swappable). But usually you would just deliver a uncompressed (if possible to save time) image file to it and use it to restore to a new drive if the present one failed. Compress if you don't have much space on the backup drive.

I prefer Macrium Reflect Free. This uses intelligent sectoring so the backup drive does not need to be the same or larger size to backup. Just enough space to hold whatever space is currently occupied on your suspect drive.

I suspect LatiosXT wants to know the model # as Corsair makes great to fair PSUs. I know that is what I was wondering.

Then test the HDD with Seatools for Windows. Be prepared to jot down a 4 digit error code, if issued. I would have a flash drive plugged in to record the drive info, and SMART and Short DST results. This can be used for a warranty claim if still warrantied. If you have backed up and it offers to fix or you can try to fix a error reporting drive and it reports it is fixed, you should still replace the drive. There really is no fix, maybe just a short term patch.

If the drive passes then I would suspect some other cause.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hard disk problem?
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 2:22 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5398
Well I'm just going to rule the PSU out for the time being. Chances are it's a decent model.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hard disk problem?
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 2:48 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 5:09 pm
Posts: 275
Location: NC
i apologize if I sounded rude. Was not trying to be. I have d/led Seatools and ran couple of tests. It doesn't seem to be able to find serial number for it. Short test passed but the long test did not pass. Trying to install a smaller HD so that I can backup info. It is older model WD 200gb, but hopefully it will help til I am able to get another HD.

So if I install a new drive, I have to get a new copy of Windows 7 for it?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hard disk problem?
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 5:12 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5398
No. The EULA states that as long as Windows is run on that machine, you're fine. And Microsoft defines a computer as its motherboard (though sometimes reactivation does trigger if you significantly change the hardware around it).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hard disk problem?
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:45 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 5:09 pm
Posts: 275
Location: NC
Ok, I have added a new hard drive to my computer. 200gb WD 7200rpm. But I can't seem to get it to start from my Windows 7 disk? I went in and changed boot from cd rom. But it the light comes on, on cd rom but only for few seconds then goes off. What am I doing wrong, please?

Thank you


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hard disk problem?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 2:57 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:17 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Phoenix, AZ
jamburger wrote:
.... I can't seem to get it to start from my Windows 7 disk? I went in and changed boot from cd rom. ...

Win7 is a DVD.
Change to boot from a DVD reader/burner.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.