Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:10 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: BIOSTAR mobo Problem!!!
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 10:01 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 9:51 am
Posts: 15
Hello my friends......

It's so nice to be a member of amazing forum where people kindly share their expertise and solve peoples computer problems.

I built a pc just for lan playing a couple of months ago, every once in a while when I turn it on the boot screens displays the video card model but then it reboots for 2 or 3 times displaying nothing but the video card model and sometimes the biostar logo...... someone told me I had to flash or upgrade the bios of the mobo, but I'm not sure if it will fix the problem........ please guide me on this one.

The PC has:
CPU: AMD 2400XP
Mobo: Biostar M7VIG Pro-D
Video: MSI GF4 Ti4200 64mb 8X
Ram: DDR 1gb 266


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 10:16 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
you should flash the bios first and tell us if it works, a lot of times a bios flash can fix those kind of problems.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 11:07 am 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
also test out your other hardware stuff first before you flash your mobo. test the ram specially. if you have more than one stick of ram, try booting up with one stick on ram at a time. test your ram for errors too with a software called memtest86. you can download the program here at www.majorgeeks.com

reseat the videocard and try other video drivers as well. reseat the cpu. could be the bios though and a flash could definitely fix this culpirt of yours.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 11:33 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 9:51 am
Posts: 15
I did flash the Bios but it was no good, some one told I should practice the reset drill...... Haven't done it cause didn't told me how to exactly!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:16 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
try flashing the video card too? i'd try booting with different RAMs and video card as well if you have spares.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:56 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Georgia Tech
IMO, this sounds like a power issue. The GF4s were power hogs back in the day. *edit* confusion of models *bangs head against wall* */edit*

Be sure you have sufficient PSU wattage to supply when it starts up. Often the entire system needs a few... "kick-starts" to get the voltage flowing.

What is your PSU rated?


Last edited by ShiftyEyedGoat on Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:01 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
ShiftyEyedGoat wrote:
IMO, this sounds like a power issue. The GF4s were power hogs back in the day, taking up an entire molex connector on its own power channel.

Be sure you have sufficient PSU wattage to supply when it starts up. Often the entire system needs a few... "kick-starts" to get the voltage flowing.

What is your PSU rated?


i thought nVidia cards didn't use a molex connector til the FX series.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:06 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Georgia Tech
cigar3tte wrote:

i thought nVidia cards didn't use a molex connector til the FX series.


*donk* Yeah, you got me there.

I don't know why I recall my Gainward 4600 having a molex connector... *shrug*

however, the point remains valid. Power could be a key issue in this instance.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:16 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
While a faulty/generic power supply could indeed be the culprit, the ti4200 did not require a molex connector.

EDIT: Superfluous post, I see he beat me to my post. I gotta quit multitasking :P


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:40 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 9:51 am
Posts: 15
The PC has a 350W power supply..... I haven't changed it cause the rebooting is every once in a while, not exactly every time the computer is turned on........... There's so much to it, I wish the solution could be more simple. I'll try reseting the PNY GF4 video card today, I don't think the problem goes beyond the mobo, power suppply and video card.

Thanx for your posts!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:42 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
h_pavon wrote:
The PC has a 350W power supply..... I haven't changed it cause the rebooting is every once in a while, not exactly every time the computer is turned on........... There's so much to it, I wish the solution could be more simple. I'll try reseting the PNY GF4 video card today, I don't think the problem goes beyond the mobo, power suppply and video card.

Thanx for your posts!


for PSUs, it's usually not the wattage, but the brand that counts.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group