Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 1:22 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New build fails to post.
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 7:08 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 3:19 am
Posts: 2
Brand new build fails to post, except for once or twice. It starts, and then it hits a certain point it shuts down and then a couple of seconds later does it again...over and over until I kill it.

I'm using the following hardware:
Asus p9x79 deluxe motherboard
Intel core i7 3930
32gb g. Skill ddr3-2400

I've verified that the ram is compatible with the m/b and have tried each of the 4 sticks of ram individually, update to the latest bios, etc. and nothing changes.

The computer did boot completely 2 times, even though I didn't change anything, but once during windows install, it shut down and again was unable to boot completely.

Update: I am now able to, more often than not, boot the computer to the windows load screen but after a few seconds the computer shuts down and then reboots. I can get into safe mode but it will not load windows 7 x64 ultimate.

I have thoroughly scoured both the m/b mfr and the memory mfr forums looking for anything similar. Nothing so far.

Again, any help or suggestion, will be greatly appreciated.


Last edited by evil2live on Mon May 06, 2013 3:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New build fails to post.
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 10:33 am 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 9:04 am
Posts: 1035
It sounds as though it could be a PSU issue. What make and model of PSU are you using in this new build?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New build fails to post.
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 4:21 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 3:19 am
Posts: 2
PCM power & cooling turbo cool 1kw.

I did try another power supply just in case and it had the exact same result.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New build fails to post.
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 7:17 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:40 pm
Posts: 597
finding discussion around code 70 is a little difficult, but it appears to be a code that indicates the motherboard is trying to auto-update.

I would suggest plugging in an ethernet cable and give the motherboard a few minutes (10ish); don't touch it; let it keep re-booting (or whatever) in that time. If it is still stuck at code 70 I think it is time to contact ASUS support for other suggestions. If all this fails, RMA the board.

Hope this helps.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group