Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:40 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: memory tests good separately, fails when both.
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 8:38 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:06 pm
Posts: 15
Hey all,

The basics first, The system is a dell latitude e6400 laptop, memory is Mushkin Enhanced Essentials 4GB (2 x 2GB) 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Laptop Memory Model 996577.

I tested the system with some old 2x512 pc2-5300 mem I had lying around and it tested out great, no errors no matter how I had it installed, both single stick tried in both slots, and together both ways, worked great.

The Mushkin on the other hand, either stick installed single in either port tests out fine, but together..... red wall of errors (memtest 86+ and onboard diag). Any thoughts?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: memory tests good separately, fails when both.
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 8:46 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5067
If the old memory works but not the new memory, then I'd exchange the new memory for something. Reasoning:

  • Old memory works, therefore both channels are working. So we can rule that out
  • Even though the new RAM is faster, it shouldn't matter and should clock itself down to the lower speed.
  • The laptop should handle 2GB per channel just fine

Just to be on the safe side, get DDR2-667/PC2-5300 RAM. Maybe for some weird reason, the faster RAM hates being clocked slower.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: memory tests good separately, fails when both.
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 9:59 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:06 pm
Posts: 15
sorta what I was thinking also (slower speed to be on safe side) A question that poped in my head a bit ago, is that I am testing with 1GB (2x512) of ram, maybe the system is having issues addressing the upper limits of the memory when I install the 4GB?

Edit: guess my question is: is that even something that could happen or is it an all or nothing type of deal?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: memory tests good separately, fails when both.
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 10:17 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5067
The hardware should support 16GB. And even if there were issues with having 4GB or more, the system wouldn't boot or throw a POST error or something.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: memory tests good separately, fails when both.
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 1:33 pm 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11075
Location: Home Sweet Home
It could be that the ram you bought is simply...incompatible with the motherboard.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: memory tests good separately, fails when both.
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 3:06 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1152
Do you have the latest BIOS? I worked on an Alienware system not too long ago that would not boot with 4GB of ram, turns out there was a BIOS update to help address that issues. BIOS updated and presto no problems.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: memory tests good separately, fails when both.
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 7:51 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:06 pm
Posts: 15
ughhh I always shudder when I hear bios update LOL, I'm gonna look at see if I can find anything for this, I'll put the old sticks in b4 I give it shot to play it safe, atleast those tested good LOL. IF I can find an update, wish me luck.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: memory tests good separately, fails when both.
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 7:58 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:06 pm
Posts: 15
An update: well I check the bios version (a19) and current release is a33, can the bios jump straight to 33 or do I have to do step upgrades?

Here are all the fixes for the bios updates from 19 up to 33

Fixes/Enhancements
------------------
1. Updated thermal table.
2. Removed HDD Acoustic support.
3. Enhanced INT 19h support.
1. Updated Intel(R) Active Management Technology firmware.
2. Updated PXE OPROM
3. Updated TPM MA/MP driver.
4. Showed LOM MAC address in BIOS setup.
1. Updated Intel(R) Active Management Technology firmware.
2. Enhanced setting of keyboard repeat rate when docking/undocking.
3. User interface change. Show warning messages to prevent user from clearing TPM when TPM is deactivated.
4. Updated thermal table for E6400 XFR only. Has no impact for E6400.
5. Updated PXE OPTROM.
6. Updated Intel Video BIOS.
7. Enhancement on Serial Over Lan support.
8. Enhanced USB mouse support in BIOS setup.
9. Enhanced the capability between Bluetooth card and NUM-Pad.
10. Updated PSA build 4127.
1. Enhanced HDD password checking.
1. Enhancement on password security support.
2. Added security support for OROM access.
3. Enable External Keyboard LED in Password Screen.
4. Allow option to enter MEBx if ME is not permanently disabled.
5. Added Fn+N hot key to turn on/off LCD backlight for E6400 XFR.
6. Minimize dimmest LCD brightness value for E6400 XFR.
1. Updated Intel(R) Active Management Technology firmware.
1. Enhance slice battery display message.
2. Enhance Security Token.
1. Updated Intel(R) Active Management Technology firmware.
1. Add Digital Sign Feature, Signed Firmware update.
2. Update new password algorithm.
3. Enhance Computrace security.
4. Update Intel UMA VBIOS to version 2107v23.
5. Updated Intel(R) Active Management Technology firmware.
1. Update Peryn CPU Micro code. 2. Update Intel TXT BIOS AC Module 3. Added support for Signed Firmware Updates.
1. Updated Intel(R) Active Management Technology firmware.
2. Enhance TPM and System Security.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: memory tests good separately, fails when both.
PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 9:28 am 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 9:04 am
Posts: 1035
You should be able to just jump to the latest BIOS revision without a problem. Just so you know, Dell's BIOS updates are damn-near fool-proof as they are in the form of an .exe file--you just download it, open it by double-clicking on it, and let it run. When it finishes, you will be instructed to reboot the computer and you will be done! Simple!


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group