Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:14 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New Boot up with HDMI connected to TV
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 4:16 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:17 am
Posts: 53
Location: South Carolina
How can I get install bootup with an HDMI to TV.

I just built my computer, everything is connected right. I have an HDMI cord running to my from Graphics card, but I cant get a picture to show up. Any idea why?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Boot up with HDMI connected to TV
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:23 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:55 pm
Posts: 9153
Location: back on the right side of the middle of the left side YES i'm folding
what video card are you using? did you set up the tv to the right hdmi input, I have three on my tv, it is plugged in on my number one slot and I have to select it on the tv setup, anytime I use it for computer to tv.

the video card also needs to be told what you are using, It may not be able to detect the tv, and you will need to set it up manually. I am not familiar with amd cards, but if you have a monitor, or can borrow one, you can set both up. I also find that my hdmi cable needs to be unplugged and replugged in to detect the tv once in a while, for some reason it loses the tv settings and detects it as a non 1080 tv.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Boot up with HDMI connected to TV
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:01 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 4558
Stupid question: did you set up multiple monitors in Windows?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Boot up with HDMI connected to TV
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:20 pm 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 9:04 am
Posts: 1035
There may be a setting in the BIOS that you need to adjust (or maybe a physical jumper on the motherboard that you need to move) in order to get the picture to your TV.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Boot up with HDMI connected to TV
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:42 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 4558
pcstudent wrote:
There may be a setting in the BIOS that you need to adjust (or maybe a physical jumper on the motherboard that you need to move) in order to get the picture to your TV.

Uh... There's nothing special you need to do that low level.

Just so I can say this for the record: A modern, HDTV is nothing special to a computer. All an HDTV is is a monitor with a TV tuner. That's it. HDMI is not a special video standard that requires you to perform voodoo on your computer to make it work. The video component of HDMI is essentially DVI.

So yeah, just plug the TV into your HDMI or DVI port (if you use a converter), and then set up Windows so it outputs to the TV as well. Nothing to it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Boot up with HDMI connected to TV
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 10:26 pm 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)
Monkey Federation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 5:14 pm
Posts: 1191
Location: Dragon flying go old so I came back to the cage
OP: are you trying to do the install using your tv or did you get everything installed and now trying to hook up your tv.

If your trying to do the install using your TV, save yourself some headache and borrow a VGA or DVI monitor (depending on your Video card) Sometimes things run funny when installing. I have even ran into occasions I have had to use the on-board video to get everything installed before it would output properly to my video card.

If the second is your case. It's a matter of making sure you have the newest drivers and messing with the software for your video card to enable the HDMI port. (Some come with this slot disabled in software, last I knew).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Boot up with HDMI connected to TV
PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 1:16 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:17 am
Posts: 53
Location: South Carolina
This is the initial boot. I have nothing installed. Never even turned it on other than trying to last night. Doesn't have windows yet. I am assuming I have to use the regular computer screen cable install everything. I have a gtx 660 ftw sig2 . Vizio tv


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Boot up with HDMI connected to TV
PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:28 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1136
I have done a few installs and used my TV as a monitor. There is nothing special like Latios said. You just plug it in and tell the TV to use proper HDMI port on it. Are you using any kind of adapter as I have seen those cause issues!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Boot up with HDMI connected to TV
PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 2:54 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:17 am
Posts: 53
Location: South Carolina
Ok. I regrettably have to say I didnt have the power cables hooked up to the motherboard correctly. :|


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group