Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: iEEE 1394 Driver Problems
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 9:22 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 9:19 pm
Posts: 7
I'm running WindowsXp professional and somehow, my firewire ports no longer function (Not an add-in card) and it has the ! next to it in the device manager. When I try to reinstall its drivers, it asks me to get odd files such as "ntmaphlp.pdr" which I cannot locate, except the windows 98 versions. Any suggestions?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 11:19 pm 
Chief Surgeon
Chief Surgeon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 1:24 am
Posts: 6701
Location: M*A*S*H 4077, Korea
http://www.maximumpc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1360

This will help us help you.

SC64


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 4:13 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11103
Location: Home Sweet Home
Hi,
I did some Googling and found this on another forum:

"Win XP SP2 "turns Firewire 800 into Firewire 100" 55
THE MODERATOR of the RME forum has warned that installing Windows XP SP2 can lead to the bus speed being limited to 100Mbit/s. Matthias Carstens posted the message on the RME forum yesterday, but says it's not a problem particular to RME products. He said: "It affects any Firewire 800 device. If you have a FW800 PCI card and an FW 800 hard disk, go see the bits come one by one through the Firewire cable". RME, he said, was aware of the problem for some time, but "didn't really imagine that Microsoft would have the guts to try to bury an existing standard. We just downloaded the final public version and it is simply unbelievable". He said that some companies are trying to sell Firewire 800 drivers so everything will be hunky-dory. But, he said, these drivers probably won't work correctly with a Fireface 800. But phew, there is an answer. He said after the SP2 update, if you install the old SP1 Firewire drivers all will be well. "In our tests this solved all problems and brought back the old performance and compatibility". He said RME will release detailed instructions on how to do this today."

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 8:48 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 9:19 pm
Posts: 7
Okay, I have not installed SP2.

And relevant system specs for the above person are as follows

Gateway 700 Series
2.8 GHz P4
1GB RAM
FireWire input leads to the sound card (Sound Blaster Audigy)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:45 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11103
Location: Home Sweet Home
Do you have the latest drivers for the sound blaster? You may have to get them from Gateways site and not Sound Blasters, they may have tweeked the drivers to suit them.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:51 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11103
Location: Home Sweet Home
One other thought, did you try to use the add new hardware wizard to reinstall the firewire? If you do, it will install the proper drivers.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:36 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 9:19 pm
Posts: 7
The gateway drivers are written in 2002, so they are quite old, but I used them. I also used the "Add new hardware" option, it still asks for ntmap.sys and those other files


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 1:49 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24345
Location: South of heaven
you can get all these files it's asking for on google too:
http://www.network-drivers.com/drivers/60/60423.htm

It may take a couple attempts to get all the ones it wants, but you can eventually nail them all down enough to get it going.

The fact that these things are no longer there makes me think that you have a couple corrupt sectors on you HDD. They may have been in a spot at one point, then that block may have been corrupted and just aren't there anymore. a run of chkdsk (/r) may back this theory.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 5:06 pm 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11103
Location: Home Sweet Home
You can always try a "repair" with the XP cd, if the drivers are on the cd it should put them in place. As always back up any info before trying this.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 10:17 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 9:19 pm
Posts: 7
Alright, I was hoping it wasn't gonna have to resort to reinstalling windows, but I guess I will have to.

And I tried those drivers that you linked me to, the problem is, they won't work on an XP machine :/


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.