Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:23 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: firefox renders several pages incorrectly
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 5:34 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:11 am
Posts: 953
Just today I noticed that the Maximum PC forum looked kinda weird when i viewed it using Firefox. several of the buttons like reply werent present and on various spots in the forums, the phrase "coming soon" was repeated. the forum looks ok under IE tho. i have screenshots email me if u wanna look. neways heres my comp specs:

AMD Athlon XP 2000+ UC'd to 1.65GHz
Chaintech 7NIF2
512MB DDR2100 (2 x 256)
Western Digital WD800JB
Lite-On LTR-52327S
Floppy Drive
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX Integrated GPU
NVIDIA nForce Integrated Audio
Windows XP Pro w/ SP1
Firefox v0.9.3
AOL dial-up
Sygate SPF pro
NOD32 v2.011 beta

i also noticed that other websites such as the GetRight homepage seem to be affected. ive used firefox b4 and i havent noticed these problems b4. I think it could be a firefox issue since its still in beta, but my AOL connection seems to be causing issues and performance loss for many of my programs such as browsers and P2P programs. IE seems to be working ok tho.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 8:24 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
if firefox has any ad blocking built in make sure its disabled and go to those pages again. aol would not be messing with anything mozilla related as they are a supporter of mozilla.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:12 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:11 am
Posts: 953
i didnt install the adblock extension for firefox, i disable popup blocking and i even disabled my HOSTS file. still no luck. and about AOL, i meant that it creates poor connections, sometimes


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:22 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
oh ok, i dont use firefox, i dont like it, so i cant help you anymore than that.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:50 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Georgia Tech
Mozilla simply renders pages differently (using different architecture) than IE.

Often pages coded for IE will show up ... a little strange.

I notice this on a few pages as well, where text might run into an ad or certain layers of text overlap or tables are broken, etc.

I don't know if there's too much of a fix other than viewing them in IE.

It's discussed in this forum to an extent.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:52 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
update might help


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 10:12 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
yeah, my site looks different when u view it in Mozilla also, puts boxes around pictures and messes the tables and stuff up. it also doesnt recognize some CSS tags im guessing.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: firefox renders several pages incorrectly
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:45 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
MAXPCreader07 wrote:
Just today I noticed that the Maximum PC forum looked kinda weird when i viewed it using Firefox. several of the buttons like reply werent present and on various spots in the forums, the phrase "coming soon" was repeated. the forum looks ok under IE tho. i have screenshots email me if u wanna look. neways heres my comp specs:

AMD Athlon XP 2000+ UC'd to 1.65GHz
Chaintech 7NIF2
512MB DDR2100 (2 x 256)
Western Digital WD800JB
Lite-On LTR-52327S
Floppy Drive
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX Integrated GPU
NVIDIA nForce Integrated Audio
Windows XP Pro w/ SP1
Firefox v0.9.3
AOL dial-up
Sygate SPF pro
NOD32 v2.011 beta

i also noticed that other websites such as the GetRight homepage seem to be affected. ive used firefox b4 and i havent noticed these problems b4. I think it could be a firefox issue since its still in beta, but my AOL connection seems to be causing issues and performance loss for many of my programs such as browsers and P2P programs. IE seems to be working ok tho.


If you have screen caps, why not post them here with the links to the sites in question? Why the secrecy?

Personally, I've never had any problems with Firefox on this forum.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:50 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
XHAOS wrote:
yeah, my site looks different when u view it in Mozilla also, puts boxes around pictures and messes the tables and stuff up. it also doesnt recognize some CSS tags im guessing.


You have that twisted. IE has the worst CSS support of any major browser.

http://news.com.com/2100-1032-5088642.html

Gripes have mounted recently over support in IE 6 for Cascading Style Sheets (CSS), a Web standard increasingly important to design professionals. Web developers and makers of Web authoring tools say the software giant has allowed CSS bugs to linger for years, undermining technology that promises to significantly cut corporate Web site design costs.....


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 1:00 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
ShiftyEyedGoat wrote:
Mozilla simply renders pages differently (using different architecture) than IE.

Often pages coded for IE will show up ... a little strange.

I notice this on a few pages as well, where text might run into an ad or certain layers of text overlap or tables are broken, etc.

I don't know if there's too much of a fix other than viewing them in IE.

It's discussed in this forum to an extent.


You'll notice one thing in common with all these 'IE works, but why doesn't Mozilla/Firefox?!' type of posts.

The original author never lists the site(s), and when asked to, invariably comes up with some excuse like the one you linked to. People say some of the strangest things about why they can't tell you the url...

"it is my girlfriends personal site"
"it is a secret government site"
"that's funny. they just took down the site"

but never....

"Oh, sorry, I don't know what the hell I am talking about!"


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 1:16 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Gadget wrote:
You have that twisted. IE has the worst CSS support of any major browser.

some of the CSS tags i use dont show up correctly in Mozilla/Firefox

examples: when i change the scollbar colors and borders on tables.

there may be other codes to use to change those things specifically for firefox or mozilla, or others that r compatible with more browsers, but theyre apparently not the 1s im using. at least that's what i have noticed when i use it anyways, but i am not using either at the moment, i just use IE. havent gotten the urge to reinstall it since my last format.

and just to clear things up. i wasnt stating that that was definitely the problem or that IE was better in any way, just stating that the site he was browsing may have the same problem as mine does. which was only a guess in the 1st place. thanx for the article tho.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 1:30 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
For those of you that don't use Firefox, I thought I would be kind enough to show you how horrible mangling from Firefox rendering these forums.....

really it is just disgusting....

there should be a law or something....

what the hell is the UN doing about this?

The main page in IE.
Image

The main page in FF.
Image

A poll page in IE.
Image

The same page in FF. Do notice the 'missing' buttons.
Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 1:36 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
XHAOS wrote:
Gadget wrote:
You have that twisted. IE has the worst CSS support of any major browser.

some of the CSS tags i use dont show up correctly in Mozilla/Firefox


Then you are probably not using CSS tags! Which tags? This site?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 1:40 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
yes ... the main thing it doesnt do is the scroll bars, no big deal, just dont do em, but the borders around the tables annoy me. not sure if that is from CSS or not tho. btw, i didnt make that layout and i havent really checked all the coding on it yet to see how it was all done, so that's why im unsure about the tables.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:21 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:11 am
Posts: 953
idk if this will work. just visit my yahoo briefcase for the screenshots


Last edited by MAXPCreader07 on Mon Aug 16, 2004 2:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 10:24 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
MAXPCreader07 wrote:
idk if this will work. just visit my yahoo briefcase

Are the FF caps in Linux or something? Are you using a dialup connection?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 10:32 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
XHAOS wrote:
yes ... the main thing it doesnt do is the scroll bars, no big deal, just dont do em, but the borders around the tables annoy me. not sure if that is from CSS or not tho. btw, i didnt make that layout and i havent really checked all the coding on it yet to see how it was all done, so that's why im unsure about the tables.


There are errors in the CSS for the scrollbars.

There are also some html errors. Several of these errors are with table tags.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 1:48 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
ahh, thanx, i will see about fixing that ASAP.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 2:36 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Georgia Tech
Gadget wrote:
ShiftyEyedGoat wrote:
Mozilla simply renders pages differently (using different architecture) than IE.

Often pages coded for IE will show up ... a little strange.

I notice this on a few pages as well, where text might run into an ad or certain layers of text overlap or tables are broken, etc.

I don't know if there's too much of a fix other than viewing them in IE.

It's discussed in this forum to an extent.


You'll notice one thing in common with all these 'IE works, but why doesn't Mozilla/Firefox?!' type of posts.

The original author never lists the site(s), and when asked to, invariably comes up with some excuse like the one you linked to. People say some of the strangest things about why they can't tell you the url...

"it is my girlfriends personal site"
"it is a secret government site"
"that's funny. they just took down the site"

but never....

"Oh, sorry, I don't know what the hell I am talking about!"


Here, I'll grab a screen-cap for you from my school's OSCAR (Online Student Computer Assisted Registration) page that jumbles up some of the text. I may have to scramble a few things since this is very sensitive information:

[img]site%20is%20down[/img]

I've never taken the time to actually document which sites incorrectly rendered the pages (they were trivial, or it didn't bother me) but this one I go to all the time and it annoys me slightly.

It's down from high traffic right now; school started today... I'll post edit when it's up


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 2:46 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:11 am
Posts: 953
by some freak of nature event, firefox started rendering the forum correctly. i know that ie and firefox render pages differently, but why do the errors come and go? did someone fix some of the code for the forums? well anyways at the moment im happy to report that i can view the forums with firefox again!


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group