Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 3:07 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: psu concern
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 6:37 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 326
Location: Miami, Fl
Image


guys I installed this software not long ago and I notice that the power supply is not giving enought juice or so I think. Now, the thing is that I want to add a dvd burnner but I am not sure if the power supply will be able to give enough juice to it without reducing power to other components and damage them in the long run. Am I going to have to invest money on a better power supply? If so, what do u guys recomend.
Also, what dvd burnner do u guys recommend for a reasonable price?

specs

p4 3.01gz
GA-81875
Sound blaster live
80gb western digital
cd burner
1gb ram pc3200
GeForceFx 5700 ultra 128mb.
psu 400watts

thanks


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 7:42 am 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
You can add your DVD burner. You will be no worse off than now as it will use the +12 power for the drive motor.

If I were you I would be thinking about a new PS though. Read this article. If you haven't been getting blue screens or other stability issues you may be OK. The +5 and +3.3 volt lines supply mobos and PCI/AGP cards with power. There is a section in this article that tells you how to test these voltages as software monitoring is notoriously inaccurate.

http://www.extremeoverclocking.com/arti ... ide_1.html


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu concern
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 8:01 am 
I'd rather be modding!
I'd rather be modding!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:47 pm
Posts: 3731
Location: Las Vegas
deivys wrote:
Image


guys I installed this software not long ago and I notice that the power supply is not giving enought juice or so I think. Now, the thing is that I want to add a dvd burnner but I am not sure if the power supply will be able to give enough juice to it without reducing power to other components and damage them in the long run. Am I going to have to invest money on a better power supply? If so, what do u guys recomend.
Also, what dvd burnner do u guys recommend for a reasonable price?

specs

p4 3.01gz
GA-81875
Sound blaster live
80gb western digital
cd burner
1gb ram pc3200
GeForceFx 5700 ultra 128mb.
psu 400watts

thanks


The previous post is a good one - listen to him. Monitoring software values need to be taken with a grain of salt. The problem is they don't alwas get the right sensor. You will notice that CPU1 and your Mainboard temps are bogus (CPU2 looks right). On my machine, one of my 5V sensors (now set as -5v) reads 1.64 all the time. Also, you will notice that you monitor software says you have no CPU fan - that isn't true is it?

The 4.11v is still a bit bothersome though.

Manta


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:08 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 326
Location: Miami, Fl
thanks guys. I guess I will be adding the burnner and not worry to much about those numbers I am getting. BTW, what would be a good dvd for a reasonable price.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:40 am 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
deivys wrote:
thanks guys. I guess I will be adding the burnner and not worry to much about those numbers I am getting. BTW, what would be a good dvd for a reasonable price.


http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDe ... 947&depa=0

Plextors are preferred by some but you pay twice as much. I don't believe they have a dual layer drive yet.

I prefer Lite-0n's for performance plus affordability.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:56 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 326
Location: Miami, Fl
thanks for the link. That seems to get the job done for a good price. I wonder if they have in white. Thanks for the link.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 10:09 am 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
deivys wrote:
thanks for the link. That seems to get the job done for a good price. I wonder if they have in white. Thanks for the link.


They do but it is out of stock at the moment.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:49 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:07 am
Posts: 24
Location: Long Island, NY
if you have a generic or budge psu, it's probably not REALLY a 400watt unit, get yourself a good quality PSU. Antec is reasonably priced. You'll notice any 'flakiness' disappear too.

Bill


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:32 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 326
Location: Miami, Fl
I am sure is gereric as it came with my $40 case. I guess I will get a better one since I am planning on adding more storage and an optical drive.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group