Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 5:57 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Certain New Programs Not Loaded
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 9:33 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:40 am
Posts: 55
Location: Illinois, in the U.S. of A.
This has been going on for about the past 2 weeks:

I just installed JavaCool's SpywareBlaster v.3.2. Before, I had v.3.1 installed, and it would run normally. Now, when I try to run it, the program never shows up. When I open task manager and look at the processes tab, it is a process, but it never makes it to the application tab. Also, I installed Registry Mechanic 3.0, and it started doing to the same thing. Actually, it is a slightly updated version since the orginal Registry Mechanic 3.0. I even tried completely uninstalling it, then reinstalling Registry Mechanic 3.0 to see if it would work correctly, but it still doesn't. Does any1 know how to rememdy this? Here are some sys. specs:

-MS Windows XP
-AMD Athlon 2500+ (Barton core)
-Asus A7N8X-2.0
-nVidia 2.27 chipset drivers


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Certain New Programs Not Loaded
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 9:42 am 
I am not my computer's stats
I am not my computer's stats
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 1:33 pm
Posts: 566
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA
Have you tried to reinstall JavaCool? There might be just a correct file that happen or you mightve deleted a registry entry for Javacool for it not to completely load.

Uninstall both programs and reinstall JavaCool only. If that doesnt fix it...come back and Ill ask more questions.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:42 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:40 am
Posts: 55
Location: Illinois, in the U.S. of A.
Yes, I've already tried that before. I want to think it's an incorrect registry value, because I did have a different program that worked to repair registry, called "Advanced System Optimizer". I cant' use the back-up feature now, becuz the trial period ended. I even have a free registry repair program called "Tweaknow Regcleaner". It is version 1.3.2, but it doesn't correct the problem. Can you or any1 still help me out?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:16 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:40 am
Posts: 55
Location: Illinois, in the U.S. of A.
I just installed WinASO's Registry Optimizer 1.5, and it worked fine. I corrected all registry problems, but those 2 programs still won't show up. Like I said, they show up in in the processes list, but not the applications list in XP's Task Manager.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 5:14 pm 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11086
Location: Home Sweet Home
Did you go into Control Panel and look in Admin/Services? Look for the program you want to load and set it for automatic, not manual.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:04 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:40 am
Posts: 55
Location: Illinois, in the U.S. of A.
Hmmm. Haven't thought about that yet. I'll try it. Thanks nastyman. (You're not such a nasty man after all).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:09 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:40 am
Posts: 55
Location: Illinois, in the U.S. of A.
I can't find it in Admin >> Services. Most normal programs aren't in there. What service would I go to.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2004 10:59 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Boot into Safe Mode and see if the programs can run.

If they can, download HijackThis and run it in safe mode. If you see any BHO's except for maybe the google toolbar or anything you installed yourself, it's probably the culprit.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2004 10:33 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:40 am
Posts: 55
Location: Illinois, in the U.S. of A.
Thanks, I'll try that right now...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2004 10:35 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:40 am
Posts: 55
Location: Illinois, in the U.S. of A.
Crap, I forgot how to boot up in Safe mode under Windows XP. :? :(

I know in Windows 98, right on the shutdown menu, it has restart, and restart in safe mode, but XP doesn't have that.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2004 5:47 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
hit F8 repeatedly after the POST screen that counts your RAM.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:30 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:40 am
Posts: 55
Location: Illinois, in the U.S. of A.
It didn't work. I couldn't get it to boot up in Safe Mode.

Any other suggestions anyone? I'll end up getting a Western Digital Raptor 74 GB, and will make a clean install of Windows XP on it, but until then, I'll have to make do with the littered installation of XP that I have now.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 12:54 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:13 pm
Posts: 817
Location: Missouri
Derek § wrote:
It didn't work. I couldn't get it to boot up in Safe Mode.

Any other suggestions anyone? I'll end up getting a Western Digital Raptor 74 GB, and will make a clean install of Windows XP on it, but until then, I'll have to make do with the littered installation of XP that I have now.


Some systems use F5 or F6 to bring up the boot menu. Try those.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 4:03 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
F8 is the Windows boot menu command.

try hitting it repeatedly the very second you turn it on.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 8:43 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:13 pm
Posts: 817
Location: Missouri
deject wrote:
F8 is the Windows boot menu command.

try hitting it repeatedly the very second you turn it on.


My nephews PC (Compaq) has it disabled and the only way he can get any menu to appear is by hitting F5. Of course this could just be a setting done by Compaq, but I have seen a few PCs that use F6 and F8 does nothing.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:00 am 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
some systems you have to hold the CTRL key to get to the boot menu.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:08 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
idiot OEMs...

they just can't leave anything alone, can they?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 5:53 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:40 am
Posts: 55
Location: Illinois, in the U.S. of A.
Well, my machine is no silly OEM, it is my own creation. The mobo is an Asus A7N8X-2.0 Deluxe. I'll try CNTRL, F5, F6, and F8. Be back soon...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 1:41 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:40 am
Posts: 55
Location: Illinois, in the U.S. of A.
Ahh, finally. Got it fixed guys. I installed Ad-aware SE 6 Build 1.10 (freshly released Aug. 8th, 2004), and it found 90 items to remove. Spyware Blaster 3.2 now loads just fine, and I feel even better than before becuz Ad-aware SE is even more powerful than ever! Plus, I have the ActiveX protection from Spyware Blaster. Spybot Search & Destroy 1.3 is getting too far behind now on keeping my system protected. If they don't get to 1.4 or something soon, Ad-aware SE will practicaly kick it out of the game completely! Now, Ad-aware just needs Immunization like Spybot.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group