Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:40 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Transfer programs but not OS to new SSD
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:41 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 6:08 pm
Posts: 6
I’ve done a search and that search didn’t answer my two questions so – here it is.

I’ve installed a SSD in my system and did a fresh install of Windows 7 - 64 bit on the SSD. So now I have a dual boot system into two separate Windows 7 OS’s -- which are both 64 bit -- one on my old C drive and the new one on my new SSD.

So now -- I have a:
C drive (with the old OS install)
D drive
E drive which is my SSD (to be renamed later).

Now I want to transfer all of my programs from the C drive to the SSD and some programs from my D drive
but NOT transfer the old OS from the C drive.

Can I do that and then delete the old OS later?

Also -- I’m usually good with being able to figure out hardware issues but not so good with software issues. I think it can be done the “geeky” way but when I try and understand it, my eyes tend to glaze over – so -- is there a program I can use to do it the easy way?

Thanks,
Crockett


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transfer programs but not OS to new SSD
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 2:56 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1148
Sorry but you are going to have to reinstall all the programs, transferring them will not make the necessary changes to the registry etc that are needed to make them work. You could clone your old drive over to the new drive, that would save you from having to reinstall all the programs and is the only way I can think of to forgo having to reinstall all of them.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transfer programs but not OS to new SSD
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 3:38 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5052
Ah, too late to the punch. There's an easy way to do this: symbolic links.

  • Open up Command Prompt as an administrator
    • You can go to All Programs -> Accessories -> Command Prompt -> Right click on it and select "Run as Administrator"
    • Or open up the Start Menu/Screen, type in "cmd" (no quotes), and press CTRL + Enter. This will do the same thing
  • Navigate to "Program Files" or "Program Files (x86)", wherever your programs are installed
  • Type in
    Code:
    robocopy [source] [destination] /MIR
    Where [source] is the name of the program folder you want copied and [destination] is where it will be in your E: drive. For example, if you wanted to move C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla, you would type in
    Code:
    robocopy "C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla" E:\Apps\Mozilla /MIR
    . Verify the operation succeeded without error.
  • Type in "rmdir /S /Q [Program folder]" to delete the copy in C:. Using the above example, you would type in
    Code:
    rmdir /S /Q "C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla"
  • And finally, type in
    Code:
    mklink /J [Program Folder] [Destination]
    Again, using our example, this would be...
    Code:
    mklink /J Mozilla E:\Apps\Mozilla

If you want, I can type up a batch script so all you have to do is feed it a folder name.

The beauty of this is that the OS resolves symbolic links as if they were really there. It's a bit mind warping, but basically programs think that C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla is a real directory and when you go into it, even though it's actually reading from/writing to the E: drive, programs will think it's in the C: drive.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transfer programs but not OS to new SSD
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 3:50 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1148
Latios,

Symbolic link are good but he wants the way I read it anyway to nuke the old drive, the symbolic links will not work then because the programs will be gone.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transfer programs but not OS to new SSD
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 4:06 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5052
Ah, well I misread that. Either way, most programs don't need to be installed in Windows in order to run properly. The only ones that do are those that require activation. Otherwise, they don't use the registry for anything.

So you could still get away with copying programs that you want to save out, delete the old OS, then put them back in, under the assumption they can be run as is. However, if you want to keep your settings and configurations for those programs, you have to make a backup of the %APPDATA% folder (just open up the run prompt and enter that in) as well.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transfer programs but not OS to new SSD
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 4:59 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 6:08 pm
Posts: 6
I don't want to the old drive -- just the old OS install. Does that still mean I can't use Symbolic link?

Crockett


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transfer programs but not OS to new SSD
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 5:00 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 6:08 pm
Posts: 6
Sorry I was doing two things at once!!!

I meant to say -- I don't want to nuke the old drive -- just the old OS install on that drive.

Crockett


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transfer programs but not OS to new SSD
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 5:31 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5052
So you want to just move the programs but keep the old OS at the moment?

You can still use the method I posted.

EDIT: Got bored and made a .bat script. Just copy the code into Notepad or similar and save it as a .bat file (this script assumes the name is "movsym.bat"). You just put in "movsym [Source] [Destination]" and it takes care of the rest. You do need to use this with an elevated command prompt though.

Please note that I only did a basic test to make sure in theory it works and this should be done at your own risk :3

Code:
echo off
IF "%~1"=="" GOTO help
IF "%~2"=="" GOTO help

IF NOT EXIST %~f1 GOTO src_err

echo on
robocopy %~f1 %~f2 /MIR
pause
rmdir /S /Q %~f1
pause
mklink /J %~n1 %~f2
pause

echo off
GOTO done

:help
@echo.
@echo   Move a folder and replace it with a symbolic link.
@echo   NOTE: This needs administrative rights to perform!
@echo   USAGE: movsym [Source] [Destination]
@echo.
@echo              [Source] : Source of the folder.
@echo         [Destination] : Destination of folder.

:src_err
@echo.
@echo   Source folder %~f1 does not exist.
@echo.

:done


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group