Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:16 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Speaker bar help question
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:10 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:45 am
Posts: 146
I picked up this speaker bar. http://www.walmart.com/ip/Vizio-High-De ... r/11046520

for all intensive purposes it works great. However when i try to play a dvd in windows media player the audio seems incompatible and i get a pop sound with all lights on the bar flashing for a second.
and it wont play audio of the dvd.. However i can open the same dvd in vlc or windows media player classic and watch it just fine with audio.

Here is the problem. I just picked up a blueray player and it seems like the power dvd software that came with it hates my speaker bar and is doing the same thing windows did..

why are some players making my speaker bar buggout while others like vlc can play it just fine.. And is there a blueray playing software that i can pickup that wont make my vizeo speaker bar crap its pants.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speaker bar help question
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:29 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:55 pm
Posts: 9231
Location: back on the right side of the middle of the left side YES i'm folding
you need to tell us how you are connected, what is plugged into what. most of these soundbars are meant to run from the TV. not a computer.

are you watching a monitor or a television, need more information than it doesn't work right.

using a sound card

using motherboard sound


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speaker bar help question
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:53 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:45 am
Posts: 146
Well first i got the speaker bar. I used it through the spdif out on my computer.

My motherboard is a gigabyte 990fxa ud3

I read the user manual on the speaker bar and aparently it says this

"The source device may be set to AC3 (Dolby Digital) output. SRS TS-HD
requires PCM audio (Lt/Rt encoded for movies). Change the device output
to PCM. "

so i went about searching for a way to change power dvd's output of ac3 to pcm so i could actually watch bluerays on the player i payed 50 bucks for.

so i downloaded a program called ac3 and tried it but fear i may have made things worse..

I dont understand any of these 2000000 hz setting crap they are asking me.. I simply want to pop the blueray i payed 20 dollars for into the pc i payed a thousand dollars for and use the blueray drive i just payed 50 bucks for to do it..

In the end it seems like blue ray playback REQURES ac3 so it looks like "thanks to the convoluted way comparability works" that i have a new paperweight. i may aswell put my damn dvd burner back in.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speaker bar help question
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 7:05 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:45 am
Posts: 146
I dont know.. i guess i need to buy speakers that actually work with my stuff..


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speaker bar help question
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:17 pm 
Million Club - 5 Plus
Million Club - 5 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 6:35 am
Posts: 1998
you need to constrain windows into only sending bitrates the sound bar understands.

goto control panel, sounds. select your digital output and click properties. goto "supported formats". make sure only DTS, Dolby Digital, 44.1 and 48k are checked for a start. click "test" after each and make sure it plays.

after that you can mess with players settings.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speaker bar help question
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:01 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:45 am
Posts: 146
So i did what you said and i tested dts audio.. it made my speakers pop loud and lights flash..

i tested dolby digital and it had the same problem and windows pro just made no sound at all when i tested it..

however both 44.1 and 48.0 tested fine.

Any tips i am thinking maybe i messed up my settings my playing with that ac3 program and now nothing works.. i am so confused.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speaker bar help question
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:11 am 
Million Club - 5 Plus
Million Club - 5 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 6:35 am
Posts: 1998
try checking 192k also, then retry dts and dolby digital. those use 192k, forgot about that.

if that doesnt work, uninstall that acs thing (system restore to a point before that maybe if it doesnt have an uninstaller). then uninstall the audio driver and grab the latest driver from the vendor website. install that and retry the above.

what audio is it? onboard? a card?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speaker bar help question
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:15 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:45 am
Posts: 146
its the onboard audio that came with my mobo..


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group