Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Sep 29, 2014 10:24 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 9:44 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
coffee wrote:
CHUMLY...what do you mean??
"disabled any services as per the magazine as well.

The magazine did an article informing readers of services that we may be able to disable. Some of them were network related...just a side thought.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 8:01 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 4:38 pm
Posts: 87
defkhan1 wrote:
Can you open shares by typing \\MACHINENAME\SHARENAME in the RUN box?

Is NetBIOS or WINS enabled on the internal network?


They are not enabled...
I was under the assumption that I did not need these.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 8:45 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:13 pm
Posts: 817
Location: Missouri
coffee wrote:
defkhan1 wrote:
Can you open shares by typing \\MACHINENAME\SHARENAME in the RUN box?

Is NetBIOS or WINS enabled on the internal network?


They are not enabled...
I was under the assumption that I did not need these.


NetBIOS is the next generation of BIOS and is routable. BIOS is not.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:09 am 
INFINITE vCORE
INFINITE vCORE
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 6:16 am
Posts: 467
Location: Middletown, DE
I THINK NetBIOS provides name resolution for your private network and without this enabled you may only be able to connect to other machines via IP address...

I believe if you're not running Active directory and DNS for naming, then you will need NetBios to connect via machine name...

But I am not a network guru, so I post this with my own grain of salt ;)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 2:10 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:13 pm
Posts: 817
Location: Missouri
defkhan1 wrote:
I THINK NetBIOS provides name resolution for your private network and without this enabled you may only be able to connect to other machines via IP address...

I believe if you're not running Active directory and DNS for naming, then you will need NetBios to connect via machine name...

But I am not a network guru, so I post this with my own grain of salt ;)


Here is some additional information on NetBIOS. http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/N/NetBIOS.html


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:12 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 4:38 pm
Posts: 87
so whats the word guys

I should enable NETBIOS?

Is that the answer to my woes?

or not..


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:27 pm 
INFINITE vCORE
INFINITE vCORE
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 6:16 am
Posts: 467
Location: Middletown, DE
coffee wrote:
so whats the word guys

I should enable NETBIOS?

Is that the answer to my woes?

or not..


I would say yes. It's worth a try anyway...

..."NetBIOS stands for Network Basic Input / Output System and is a set of rules defining services for PC based networks originally created by IBM. Microsoft operating systems such as NT, Windows for Workgroups and Windows 95 communicate usi ng NetBIOS names…a NetBIOS name can be upto 15 characters in length (with a 16th set aside to denote which service or command was used when the name was referenced.) The services provided by NetBIOS run over TCP/IP and the rules for this and Ne tBIOS name resolution are defined in RFC 1001 and RFC 1002."...

From http://www.ussrback.com/NT/docs/netbios.htm


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 7:29 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
I dont think NetBIOS is your problem.
I dont have it on my PC and our network works fine.

I think you need to try tunning static IPs. I've had problems with DHCP sometimes, so I would try that first.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 7:46 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 4:38 pm
Posts: 87
Quote:
I think you need to try tunning static IPs. I've had problems with DHCP sometimes, so I would try that first


excuse my ignorance, but do you mean assigning each comp its own IP under TCP/IP properties?
or through the router?

The thing I never really understood is that I possibly may have to open some ports on the router, but I dont know which ones!
You guys have any idea?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 8:19 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
coffee wrote:
so whats the word guys

I should enable NETBIOS?

Is that the answer to my woes?

or not..


Sorry, I didn't get back this...Completely forget about this thread.

They are seeing each other and I suspect if you hit them by IP, you'll see the shares you're looking for...but only by IP as you're not having any name resolution occuring there.

Anyhoo, yes, you either want to either enable netbios and open the respective ports so the computer browser will chatter back and forth some...or go with statics and add an entry to your hosts file reflecting the machine name and IP that you have assigned to that box.

The hosts file does have an example entry in there. If you don't know where it is, use the find utility to find this file.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 9:56 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
Yes, go into TCP/IP properties and set the IPs manually.

Go to start -> run -> type "cmd" (without the quotes) and hit enter -> type "ipconfig /all" (again, without quotes), and hit enter

Write the following info down:
DNS servers
IP address
Default gateway

Now, go into TCP/IP properties, and put in this info:
IP address: use 192.168.x.10 (you need to use the third number from the ip address you wrote down earlier, its going to be a 1 or a 0)
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: you wrote this down earlier, but its going to be 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.0.1
DNS Adresses: you wrote these down earlier as well.

The IP Adress should not be the same on both machines, the last number needs to be different, ie, Comp1: 192.168.1.5, Comp2: 192.168.1.15, all other numbers will be the same.

See if that works.
You should not have to worry about opening ports to get your LAN to work properly.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:18 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:25 am
Posts: 5179
coffee wrote:
yeah same workgroup

They dont see each other
meaning
one computer doesnt see the other when i go to
"view workgroup computers"


Sounds like they're both wanting to be master computer browser, but for some reason neither is showing the other computer? Try going to one of the computers and disabling the Computer browser service.

Start>Run, then type services.msc

Double click on 'Computer Browser'.
Press the stop button, then change the Startup type to 'Disabled'.

You only need to do this on one computer.
That might clear things up.

You *should* be able to access the other computer by manually typing
\\computername\sharename
Obviously you'd replace computername with whatever you named your computer and sharename with whatever you named the shared drive/folder on that computer.

Hope this helps.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:38 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 4:38 pm
Posts: 87
OK I guess I was just missing the Netbios protocol
Fixed everything!

Thanks for all your help guys!


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.