Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:57 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Drive not recognized in IDE mode
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:07 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:17 am
Posts: 126
Hi
I have spinning HD Drive not recognized in IDE mode in the BIOS by my mobo. But if I switch to AHCI mode the drive is show in the BIOS. The drive is a WD 300GB raptor, and the board is a Gigabyte P55A. I had been messing around with moving and changing sizes of partitions on this drive. There is no data on the drive. I used G-Parted to wipe the drive again, and wrote a new partition table. Still no luck in the BIOS. I want IDE mode so I can but XP on this drive. I've changed channel connections between the drive and Mobo, and still nothing in IDE. This drive used to be able to been seem in IDE mode until I started move partitions around on it.
Suggestions
Thanks


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Drive not recognized in IDE mode
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:59 am 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 9:04 am
Posts: 1035
Is there any chance you could just install the AHCI drivers for the motherboard's SATA ports from a floppy disc by pressing the F6 key during the installation of Windows XP? This would allow you to install Windows XP on the drive in its current SATA port mode.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Drive not recognized in IDE mode
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 3:04 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 5:46 am
Posts: 113
If this is a SATA drive. Set your EFI settings to Native SATA mode. This is the same as "IDE" mode. Intel chipsets do SATA natively, so XP will install on it with no special drivers. Also, I would wipe the drive completely clean and repartition AFTER installing XP.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Drive not recognized in IDE mode
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 6:02 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11078
Location: Home Sweet Home
I am running a veloci-raptor 300 gig drive right now and it runs AHCI mode just fine with either XP or Win 7 which it is running now. With XP, I used a floppy and F6 like pcstudent said and it installed XP and ran it for years.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group