Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 2:43 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Linux again
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 9:41 pm 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
I tryed what you said in my earlyer post. I set the boot to my cd rom drive. Its still not working though. My choices for primary boot are Floppy ARMD-FDD ARMD- HDD and AdapI CDROM It is set at the cdrom but it still wont boot the disks.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 9:52 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:51 pm
Posts: 844
hi when you set it to "CD" you did select exit saving changes right?

what happens when the CD is in the drive and you try to boot (i.e. does it say anything about hitting a key to boot from cd?)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 7:25 am 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
Yes, i saved my settings. and when i boot up it reads the disk, takes a a little time doing that, and then loads windows. I dont get why its doing that.a I have two cd rom drives one being my burner and neither of them work.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:32 am 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
gamerfreak wrote:
Yes, i saved my settings. and when i boot up it reads the disk, takes a a little time doing that, and then loads windows. I dont get why its doing that.a I have two cd rom drives one being my burner and neither of them work.


sounds like a problem with the CD.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 5:07 pm 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11092
Location: Home Sweet Home
Are you trying to use an image to load Linux? If you are, you must run the image in windows (just double click on the icon) so it can pick up your burning program and make a bootable cd. Do this for all the images you have.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 6:05 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
Exactly what have you been downloading??


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 6:26 pm 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
this time, you can try making another bootable linux cd if you can. this time also try downloading clone cd. i use it all the time and it works.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 4:31 am 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
The cd works because i have used it before.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 4:59 am 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
and the cd was burned properly cuz it wasnt burned by me


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 9:54 am 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24224
Location: Granite Heaven
Gamer: try going into the BIOS again, and in addition to setting the CD-ROM as your first boot option, remove the HD completely from the list. Tell us what it says ... chances are, it won't boot but it should tell you why. :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 11:06 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11092
Location: Home Sweet Home
Some motherboards have an option in the bios for legacy operating systems, you might have to enable that option to get the primary ide to work right. As for the cd-rom not detecting the cd, your cd-rom may be too old and needs a firmware flash to read the cd. One other thought is use a linux boot disk in the floppy to load your system.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 2:58 pm 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
:evil: i made the boot disk. didnt work. Took the hd off. Didnt work. Cant find mobo option in bios. It wont stop loading to windows. I want to kill it :twisted: what the hell should i do. Thanks for the advice.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 3:39 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
gamerfreak wrote:
what the hell should i do. Thanks for the advice.


Stop using Linux and stick with something you know.

...or at least put forth some effort before asking questions here.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 4:19 pm 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11092
Location: Home Sweet Home
Hey Furball!

This forum is for helping people out! Not telling them to do something they know, how the hell are ya going to learn if they don't ask questions? If you don't have something constructive to say ... DON"T!!

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 4:37 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
:::Rolling Eyes:::

My goodness, who gave you a hall pass.

Maybe you should read some of the other posts they've made.
.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:24 pm 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
maybe i wana have linux :x


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:54 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
Then start asking some constructive questions, feed on that, and then ask more if you needed.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 6:56 am 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
these are constructive in my terms. I need to do somthing and i am asking questions to help me do that. Maybe you should be giving more constructive ansewers.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:00 am 
INFINITE vCORE
INFINITE vCORE
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 6:16 am
Posts: 467
Location: Middletown, DE
Something I have run across:

Some older motherboards won't boot CD's unless they are set as Secondary master...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 4:03 pm 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
thanks for you suggestions i got it to work


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group