Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Dec 28, 2014 10:17 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Stop error C000021a
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:41 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 10
Hello...I'm getting the following BSOD with a Dell Inspiron 1525:

Stop: C000021a (Fatal System Error)
The initial session process or system process terminated unexpectedly with a status
of 0x00000000 (0xc0000001 0x00100500).
The system has been shut down.

The 1525 is running Vista 32-bit Home Premium with a T2330 dual-core.

I cannot boot into safe or normal modes. Here's what I've tried so far:

Last known good config
Chkdsk /r
Overwrite csrss.exe and winlogon.exe via the repair console cmd
Different RAM
Reseat CMOS battery
There is one minidump file that I have found in hooking the hdd up externally, but it's from 7/27, and this problem is 5 days old.
Wanted to update the bios, but Dell has it in exe form and Winrar doesn't give me an option to extract from it.

I've been able to back everything up for the customer that they want, in case a format needs to be done, but I wanted to find out if anyone had further advice before I do that. I'd be grateful for any help that fellow MPC'ers might have...have a great day! :P


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stop error C000021a
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:48 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5548
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 4e118e1ffd

and

http://www.faultwire.com/solutions-fata ... *1314.html

And all of this: https://www.google.com/search?q=bugchec ... 80&bih=717

Basically there's a security issue. If you backed everything up, I'd just reformat rather than attempt a clean up and hope it won't happen again.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stop error C000021a
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:24 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 10
I visited that first link when I first started working on this, hence my overwriting of the csrss and winlogon files. Contrary to what seems to be implied, I have consulted "Google support" quite extensively before posting here. I also forgot to mention I did a full virus scan with the drive connected externally to another pc. It did find and remove some items, which obviously didn't help. A lot of the Faultwire link can only be followed if you're booted into Windows, which I'm not able to do with this error.

All that said, I agree I am probably at the format point. Thanks for the input!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stop error C000021a
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:36 am 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:22 pm
Posts: 4406
Location: In the closet
Yep, start anew. Everything will thank you with snappy kindness.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stop error C000021a
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:23 pm 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11118
Location: Home Sweet Home
I would try sfc /scannow if this is XP before reloading. It will save a lot of time if it works. You should let us know what the OS is when asking questions about a pc.

XP:

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/docu ... x?mfr=true

Win 7:

http://pcsupport.about.com/od/toolsofth ... cannow.htm

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stop error C000021a
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 4:18 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 10
Nastyman wrote:
You should let us know what the OS is when asking questions about a pc.

From the original post:
spiderbeavis wrote:
Hello...I'm getting the following BSOD with a Dell Inspiron 1525:

Stop: C000021a (Fatal System Error)
The initial session process or system process terminated unexpectedly with a status
of 0x00000000 (0xc0000001 0x00100500).
The system has been shut down.

The 1525 is running Vista 32-bit Home Premium with a T2330 dual-core.

I cannot boot into safe or normal modes. Here's what I've tried so far:

I tried the sfc /scannow in the Vista repair console, it gave me the message that there was already a repair operation that needed a system restart to complete...which of course I can't do since I am unable to boot into Windows. I'm ok with formatting at this point, it's just something I generally like to leave until the last resort.

Kleinkinstein, thanks for the link, I'm all about snappy kindness! :P Fortunately, I've been in the geek biz for about 15 years now and have done many a reload. Being a MaxPC reader for most of those years, what I learn here and in the mag keeps me up to date and sharp. Thanks again everyone!


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.