Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Dec 17, 2014 2:04 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Where did my sound go?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:16 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 12:18 pm
Posts: 32
Win 7 64 bit
AMD Phenom II x4 945 3.00GHz
ATI Radeon 4870
4GB Ram
SoundBlaster X-Fi Soundcard

Upgraded to 8 gb or RAM by adding 2x2GB of the exact same memory to mother board(all 4 slots are now full). I unplugged all wires including the power supply. Hook all back up reboot everything is great but I have no sound. Volume control shows speakers and lists SB x-fi as the device. Had no problems before hand.

Please help!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where did my sound go?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 12:12 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:22 pm
Posts: 4406
Location: In the closet
Did you reconnect to jack cable to the case front panel? Is their audio out the card? Speakers/headphones plugged into the right port? If all is so, then next easiest thing is to uninstall the drivers with Revo or Geek, purge all remnants with CCleaner infused first with CCEnhancer, and then reinstall the latest version off the X-Fi page.

PS. Did you Memtest those new DIMMS?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where did my sound go?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 12:34 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 12:18 pm
Posts: 32
I uninstalled the SB card and re-enabled the on board audio and that works just fine. Is there an issue w/ SB cards and memory?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where did my sound go?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:31 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:17 pm
Posts: 944
Location: Phoenix, AZ
kleinkinstein wrote:
Did you reconnect to jack cable to the case front panel? Is their audio out the card? Speakers/headphones plugged into the right port? If all is so, then next easiest thing is to uninstall the drivers with Revo or Geek, purge all remnants with CCleaner infused first with CCEnhancer, and then reinstall the latest version off the X-Fi page.

PS. Did you Memtest those new DIMMS?

OP unresponsive.

Also what MB?


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.