Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Raid 0 Yes I know......bad choice
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:07 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:14 am
Posts: 17
Hi All,

So I had a RAID 0 on a Dell Dimension 8400. Anyway something happened and one drive has seemed to have gone down. The Intel accelerator that boots said that was an error on the 2nd drive. I was able to get it running for a few hours as it had issues with some \windows\system\security.....sam....software....etc files. After fixing that it seemed ok. Was planning on backing up the files and I looked this morning I had a BSOD. There were several and I will have to list them later but here is what I have found.

My second drive is working and spins up but has failures early on the drive. Would like to find a software package that I could use to get my files off before the drive fails all together.

It is a seagate ST3500320AS.

I know RAID 0 without backup is like walking a tightrope without a net but any help would be appreciated.

Thanks Falcondown01


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 0 Yes I know......bad choice
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 8:52 am 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:22 pm
Posts: 4406
Location: In the closet
ReclaimMe to the rescue. I've used this tool a handful of times with trashed Raid 0 setup to recover the data with stellar results. Just follow the directions. Anymore, I authorize Raid 0 only if it's unequivocally necessary.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 0 Yes I know......bad choice
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 10:16 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:14 am
Posts: 17
Hi kleinkinstein,

Thanks for the tip. Question though, do you have to remove the drives from the current config ( let say on ports 1 and 2) and a different hard drive on port 0 with the a bootable windows install to use the program and then let it do its magic?

Thanks
falcondown01


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 0 Yes I know......bad choice
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 3:55 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11117
Location: Home Sweet Home
Read this:

http://KILLMEPLEASE.com/library ... overy.aspx

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 0 Yes I know......bad choice
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 5:12 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:14 am
Posts: 17
Hi Nasty,

Looks like the link is old......it says its up for sale.

Thanks
falcon


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 0 Yes I know......bad choice
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:54 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11117
Location: Home Sweet Home
Believe it or not it worked when I copied and pasted the link....sorry. :cry:

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 0 Yes I know......bad choice
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:05 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:14 am
Posts: 17
Hi Nasty,

Could you copy the test from the support page that works for you and paste it in?

Thanks
falcon


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 0 Yes I know......bad choice
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:43 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11117
Location: Home Sweet Home
Well, it is no longer there...sorry.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 0 Yes I know......bad choice
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:53 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:14 am
Posts: 17
Thanks Nasty for the help.

Anyone else out there have any ideas? I am looking at getting an identical drive to see if I can swap the boards on it but would rather just retrieve the data and move on.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
falcon


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 0 Yes I know......bad choice
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:20 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:14 am
Posts: 17
All,

Found that my drive "seagate ST3500320AS" is within warranty and was affected by a firmware bug around 2009 time frame. Anyway I am trying to contact them to see if they can help in the recovery and repair/replacement of the drive.

falcon


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 0 Yes I know......bad choice
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:11 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11117
Location: Home Sweet Home
Here is the firmware update...do it to it.

http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/e ... Q/207951en

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 0 Yes I know......bad choice
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 1:09 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:14 am
Posts: 17
Hi Nasty,

Thanks. I have been through the documentation and said not to use if you had been using a RAID configuration. So I am going to contact them and see what they have to say. I'll you posted.

Thanks
falcon


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 0 Yes I know......bad choice
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 1:46 pm 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11117
Location: Home Sweet Home
If you have been using raid, you need to go into the bios and break the array, that will configure the hard drive back to factory specs, so you can use it as a single drive. Then you will be able to flash the drives firmware.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.