Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 3:42 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Computer Not Booting
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 5:18 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:20 pm
Posts: 31
The other day when I went to start up Star Wars Galaxies I got a blue screen and the system start beeping and I attempted to restart. When I restarted there was no video. At first I believed that my video card had went bad but I swtiched in another card and still no go. I believe it must be the processor or my motherboard Gigabyte GA-8KNXP. When the computer starts it sounds normal with no video for about 10 seconds and then you can hear it rebooting. Help

P.S. If I upgrade to another motherboard, will I be able to swap my SATA RAID 0 Twin Raptors without Data lose. I'm thinking of the new socket T Gigabyte board.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 5:53 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 1:20 pm
Posts: 53
Location: Fremont
first of all, if your machine is under warranty always always always run the tech support game first and find out what they say. if that doesnt help then you might want to figure out what voids your warranty.

it sounds like you machine isnt able to post. im not sure what kind of system you have so id recomend that you verify that you have a working motherboard speaker. if your machine posts properly you should hear a single beep. if you hear anything else than you have a problem.

if you dont have to worry about voiding your warranty then:
i dont know how comfortable you are with building and rebuilding a computer so if you have never done much then you might want to find someone to help you.
if you really think its hardware then you could try to install windows on a spare hard drive. sometimes a simple reformat can fix very strange problems. if you dont think that will work or you have already tried it you can try swapping out parts into a working machine. you might want to start with the videocard. but, this is a pretty drastic approach.

let me know if you find anything else out.

kaiser


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 6:29 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:20 pm
Posts: 31
This is actually a system I built. I have tried swaping out the video card and no go. I don't have any spare P4's hanging around so I couldn't test that. I'm probably just gonna upgrade. My main concern is the raid but I believe that gigabyte may use the same controller on this the board I'm looking at. GA-8I915P


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 6:40 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 1:20 pm
Posts: 53
Location: Fremont
i wish i had some raid experience but, i never really had the cash to buy drives in pairs

a rebuild would probably be best especially if its a home built
its always nice to have extra parts to swap to isolate what went bad


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 7:18 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:20 pm
Posts: 31
Whats gonna suck is I'm not gonna be able to play an 3d games because I don't have a PCI-Express card yet.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 7:38 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 1:20 pm
Posts: 53
Location: Fremont
i know what you mean. im usually a late adopter. ive been holding off on the pci-e thing til i see some of those next generation games that are in delay. til then i stick to my battlefield vietnam and rise of nations stuff lol


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 7:47 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
i would also try your RAM. that sounds like a problem i had before.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:13 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:20 pm
Posts: 31
Is there a way to test without swapping for mothetboard, processor, or ram. I can't even get to BIOS like I said black screen. I tried reseating my processor and I booted with out the heatsink and it started to work so I shut it off and put back on the heat sink and restarted and same problem. What a tease


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:36 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
well, this doesnt sound like any i've heard before...

first, never boot the computer without something to carry away the heat.

could you list your system specs? could have been some faulty product gone haywire.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:22 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Have you cleared your CMOS?

look in your motherboard manual for the Clear CMOS jumper on the mobo. WITH THE SYSTEM UNPLUGGED, switch the jumper for 10 seconds, and then replace it to its original position. This can solve a lot of mysterious problems like yours, and many people forget about it.


Also, you should try booting with nothing but the CPU, Videocard and 1 stick of RAM, and see if it POSTs. If it does, then start adding hardware ONE PIECE AT A TIME. Once you can't boot you will know the culprit.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 5:15 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:20 pm
Posts: 31
Giga-Byte GA-8KNXP Motherboard
Pentium 4 3.0CGHz 800M 478P/512K HT Processor
Corsair 1GB TWINX1024-3200LLPT (2 512 MB Sticks in Duel Channel)
2 Western Digital 10,000 RPM WD360GD 8MB 36 GB HDD's
1 Western Digital 120GB|WD 72R WD1200JB 8MB-CACHE HDD
ATI RADEON 9700 PRO 128MB 8X


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 5:22 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:13 pm
Posts: 817
Location: Missouri
Gunnett wrote:
This is actually a system I built. I have tried swaping out the video card and no go. I don't have any spare P4's hanging around so I couldn't test that. I'm probably just gonna upgrade. My main concern is the raid but I believe that gigabyte may use the same controller on this the board I'm looking at. GA-8I915P


That video card slot might have actually been damaged. Try using a pci video card. Also make sure it is not the monitor causing the problem. Try swapping out the monitor with a good known working one.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 9:53 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:20 pm
Posts: 31
I used a pci video card; no go


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.