Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:24 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Video card or monitor? Screen goes black when switching user
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 11:09 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:37 am
Posts: 291
I have an issue with my Acer P221W monitor going black when I switch user profiles on my Win 7 PC. It only happens on random occasions but it's enough to be frustrating; a few times a week at least, sometimes once a day depending how much use the PC gets throughout the day.
The original post is here but at that point I thought it was a problem with the OS.

Last night this happened again so I decided to unplug the monitor cable going into the video card (Radeon 4870) and plug it back in. Sure enough, when I plugged it back in the monitor came back to life. So now I'm wondering if it's hardware related. All my video drivers are up date and besides, this has been happening for quite some time (more frequently lately however). There are no Win 7 64-bit drivers for the monitor and certainly no firmware updates.

I'm at a loss as to what to do.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video card or monitor? Screen goes black when switching
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 11:25 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11088
Location: Home Sweet Home
Have you tried switching out the cable between the monitor and video card with another cord to see if it is the cord?

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video card or monitor? Screen goes black when switching
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 12:15 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:37 am
Posts: 291
I don't have another VGA cable.
I realize that's the obvious step in troubleshooting but the way the monitor behaves (only blacks out when switching users) I'm more inclined to believe it's a device issue. Not sure how a cable could become flakey only while switching users. I'm sure stranger things happen though. Not much I can do without a cable at the moment...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video card or monitor? Screen goes black when switching
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 12:22 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 10:26 pm
Posts: 134
Is the other user running different res?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video card or monitor? Screen goes black when switching
PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:42 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:37 am
Posts: 291
FrostyWinnipeg wrote:
Is the other user running different res?


No, but good idea!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video card or monitor? Screen goes black when switching
PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:48 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 10:26 pm
Posts: 134
BastardAle wrote:
FrostyWinnipeg wrote:
Is the other user running different res?


No, but good idea!


Set both users to same res. See what happens.

Maybe a cap(s) on the LCD board is buldging/blown. Can't handle res changes without going black.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video card or monitor? Screen goes black when switching
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 10:22 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:37 am
Posts: 291
Na, everyones running the default res for that monitor.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video card or monitor? Screen goes black when switching
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:32 pm 
Team Member Top 1000
Team Member Top 1000

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 8:17 pm
Posts: 143
The most sure fire way to find out is really to just swap stuff out and test. You got any old stuff laying around you can swap?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video card or monitor? Screen goes black when switching
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 10:17 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 6:22 am
Posts: 41
I would agree with FrostyWinnipeg. Even if your not changing Res it sounds to me like a blown Cap. If this is what it is then this is an easy fix if you know how to Solder. Open the monitor. Look at the circuit boards. Find a cap with where the head of it has rounded. Capacitors should have a Flat head. When they get rounded then you know it has blown. Then use the Solder Iron to remove the cap. Take it to Radio Shack to buy a new one just like it. And then Solder in the new Cap.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group