Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Dec 27, 2014 10:06 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: GPT Creates EFI Partition ::::SOLVED:::::
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 7:22 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1164
I'm finally getting around to replacing my aging WD 1TB drive that's starting to give me S.M.A.R.T. errors, I know the drive is toast, and its about 5 years old so no biggy. I bought a new WD Red 3TB drive (they were on sale), I installed the disc, ran Disk Management, it sees the drive, I create the GPT partition no problems all seems well. I fire up Acronis, clone the old drive to the new drive do the happy dance because I get no errors and my data is there. I notice then that it created a 100MB EFI partition at the front of the drive, I figured I messed up on the clone and forgot to uncheck a partition on my SSD, run DiskPart, clean the disk and do it again, and get the same results. Tried Macrium Reflect and it too wants to make the EFI partition. My question is this normal? This is the first time I am seeing this on a non-system drive. This drive is only being used for data, there is no EFI partition on the drive I'm cloning, its formatted under MBR though, so is this a requirement for GPT?



::EDIT:::
Running Win7 Ultimate


Last edited by nsvander on Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPT Creates EFI Partition
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 8:22 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5548
That's only needed if you're using the drive for booting purposes. Since you're not, you can get rid of it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPT Creates EFI Partition
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 8:30 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1164
That was my thought as well. Windows creates the GPT partition only no problem. The problem comes when I try to use a software solution to migrate my 800+ GB of files. The drive gets repartitioned during the process and bam 100MB EFI partition created. Can I use disk part to wipe just that partition and then expand the drive over it?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPT Creates EFI Partition
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 10:53 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5548
That probably would be the best idea. Or you can see if formatting it as an extended partition instead of a primary one will prevent this. It may be thinking since you're creating a primary partition it's going to be a boot one.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPT Creates EFI Partition
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:33 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11118
Location: Home Sweet Home
Acronis did its job, it copied bit for bit what it saw....a boot drive which always has the 100 MB for windows to use for repair. So you removed the old drive and saw that you had a 100MB partition, this is normal. When you CLONED the drive, you made it the new system drive to replace the drive that is failing.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPT Creates EFI Partition
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 11:46 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:17 pm
Posts: 950
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Nastyman wrote:
...a boot drive which always has the 100 MB for windows to use for repair. ...

That is what I thought as in it had to. I was wrong.

[from link therein].... The 100 MB system partition is used primarily as BitLocker partition for BitLocker encryption. Additionally, it also holds the Windows Recovery Environment (WinRE) and boot files with boot manager for booting up the computer for troubleshooting when there is no Windows 7 installation DVD disc on hand. ...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPT Creates EFI Partition
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 2:08 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1164
Nastyman wrote:
Acronis did its job, it copied bit for bit what it saw....a boot drive which always has the 100 MB for windows to use for repair. So you removed the old drive and saw that you had a 100MB partition, this is normal. When you CLONED the drive, you made it the new system drive to replace the drive that is failing.

Nasty



Except its not my boot drive, its another data drive. I have 2 drives in the system, a 128GB SSD formatted as GPT it has 3 partitions on it, (128MB hidden (BitLocker or GPT Partition info?) 100MB EFI Partition and then 117GB for OS), the second drive is a 1TB WDC formatted as MBR with 2 partitions (128MB hidden, and the rest is Data).

What is throwing me off is that I can format the drive in Windows as GPT and it wont create the 100MB EFI partition, but when ever I use any sort of cloning software, it creates the 100MB EFI, even when it is told it will be a DATA only drive.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPT Creates EFI Partition
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 2:59 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1164
I finally got this thing working, I was never able to figure out why the EFI partition was being created in the cloning software but not when Windows made the partition. Used Acronis, cloned the drive, then used GParted to kill the EFI Partition, and then spread GPT partition to recover the 100MB.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.