Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 5:33 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: What's the easiest and best processor to overclock?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 3:02 pm 

Well I guess the topic says it all... but here's the deal; I'd like to overclock a processor and since I'm building a machine and still haven't bought the processor, I'd like to know the best option I have to OC, also I'd like to make perfectly clear that I have never done this before (OCing), so it would be great if you could give me not only your advise on which processor to buy, but also the info I'll need in order to overclock it.

BTW I'm not planning on buying one of those top-of-the line/edge-technology processors that are almost over a thousand bucks, I just want an average 2-3Ghz that I can get the most of, other than that, any suggestions, comments, etc will be welcome.

ThAnX

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 3:10 pm 
Celeron
Celeron

i'm sure you'll get a lot of 2.4c/2.8c recommendations, so ill suggest something else.

2.26ghz P4 on a 533 fsb. if you get pc-3200 ram, you can get a theoretical 3.4ghz if you hit the 200mhz fsb (from 133mhz). theres little possibility that you'll hit this, though. i guess the least you can get is ~2.8ghz with stock cooling. (though it's not 100% possible.)

if you've got the money, then go with the 2.4c/2.8c and enthusiast ram.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 4:03 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer

There's good reason why you'll get Northwood (P4C) recommendations - they're decently priced, perform well at stock, and have lots of headroom for overclocking. I learned to drive to a stick shift on a very forgiving truck when it came to switching gears and not stalling - the Northwoods, in a sense, are very forgiving and great procs to learn how to overclock on.

Intel Camp
2.4C or 2.6C (depending on budget)
Asus P4P800 SE or Abit IC7 MaxII
PC3200 to PC4000 (again, depending on budget)

AMD Camp