Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 12:13 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 589 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27 ... 30  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 9:07 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:51 am
Posts: 171
Location: Wandering amidst the stars...
O_O

5GHZ?!

Why can't you run it at that speed all the time?

Just outta curiousity.

And maybe others might have suggestions for you to. 8)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 6:42 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:20 pm
Posts: 19
Vista 64bit Ultimate, Core 2 Quad 2.4ghz @ 3.83ghz, 4x 2gb G.Skill DDR2 800mhz, NV 8800gts 320mb SC version OC'ed., GA-X38-DQ6 bios F9a
3DMARK06 - 13255
3DMARK05 - 20413
3DMARK03 - 40987
3DMARK01 - 50970
PCMARK05 - 11493

I Try >.>


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 9:27 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:48 am
Posts: 164
Location: In the BIOS
my old P4 up to 3.35 on an ECS mobo and a 420 Watt PSU!

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2022/2489375037_8b9e5cab3f.jpg?v=0


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 2:12 pm 
Million Club 5+ [PC]*
Million Club 5+ [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:23 pm
Posts: 6233
Location: Florida
Strongbad536 wrote:
my old P4 up to 3.35 on an ECS mobo and a 420 Watt PSU!

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2022/2489375037_8b9e5cab3f.jpg?v=0


i think the fact you could even OC on an ECS impresses me the most. i wasn't able to get anything extra out of pentium dualies in in two separate attempts with ECS boards


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 3:49 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:48 am
Posts: 164
Location: In the BIOS
Gailim wrote:
Strongbad536 wrote:
my old P4 up to 3.35 on an ECS mobo and a 420 Watt PSU!

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2022/2489375037_8b9e5cab3f.jpg?v=0


i think the fact you could even OC on an ECS impresses me the most. i wasn't able to get anything extra out of pentium dualies in in two separate attempts with ECS boards



yeah. I had asked a while back and people said that ECS's are notorious for not allowing overclocking. But i went into the BIOS and there was this option and it said "CPU Overclocking function" and I set it to enable. You also need to turn off the thermal monitoring function and enhanced halt state as these hamper overclocking.

At first I couldnt get the bus speed past 210. Then I got a little more dangerous and upped the vCore voltage to like 1.45, and I was able to get all the way to 224 (with a 15x multipier, an extra 14 mhz is an extra 210).

Im surprised you had a hard time with it because it really was not too bad for me, just did some extra tweaking with the voltages. What board were you using? (mine was a 945P-A board)


Now I just bought a new MSI P35 board, and I really want to see if I can maybe get into the high 3s or even 4 gigahertz range.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 4:11 pm 
Million Club 5+ [PC]*
Million Club 5+ [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:23 pm
Posts: 6233
Location: Florida
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813135034

I bought two of those for some rigs i built back in december
its not that the option wasn't there; it was that the boards were of such comically bad quality that they wouldn't post if I upped the speed by more than 200mhz. and pentium dual cores can OC up the wazoo as I later found out on a P35. when i got it the front panel USB ports didnt work right and 2 of the sata ports didn't work either. Iwould have RMA'd but everything else seemed to function and they were just meant to be internet machines. The second board also failed to impress. that where I learned never to buy a MOBO for anything under $70 and NEVER to buy from ECS Elitegroup again

p.s. I don't know if you will be able to hit 4.0ghz on a Cedar Mill P4 but good hunting!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 5:08 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:48 am
Posts: 164
Location: In the BIOS
Yeah I'm never gonna buy anything from them again either, but I was surprised how high I got it. Since that's the exact same board I got, its weird that you couldnt get anything out of them. But then again, a general rule of OCing is that its impossible to compare, and this must be one of those things where mine OCed and yours didnt. Maybe I'll mail it to you once I get my new P35 board :wink:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 10:55 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:50 am
Posts: 21
Location: Sunshine State, US
Keiro wrote:
O_O

5GHZ?!

Why can't you run it at that speed all the time?

Just outta curiousity.

And maybe others might have suggestions for you to. 8)


Haha lol I would need a dry ice truck sitting outside my house all the time 8)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 12:10 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 2:34 pm
Posts: 3977
Location: Building my 4-8-9
Q6600 @ 3.2GHz on air (Scythe Ninja non-rev B). Not the best Q6600 in the word (it's one of those L8 week not-as-good ones) but at least I got a decent OC-er this time, unlike my Opteron which was terrible. Overclocking, my a--.

Image
Proof it's stable, not just booting, getting a CPU-Z validation and then dying. I'm not sure if there's a place for "Prime95 validation" but if there is please share!

EDIT: Revalidated with my video card in place (the old validation showed the 7900GTX).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 2:15 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:50 am
Posts: 21
Location: Sunshine State, US
5509mhz 8)

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=363892


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 5:21 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:48 am
Posts: 164
Location: In the BIOS
sno.lcn wrote:


I am in awe :shock:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 10:57 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:51 am
Posts: 171
Location: Wandering amidst the stars...
sno.lcn wrote:
Keiro wrote:
O_O

5GHZ?!

Why can't you run it at that speed all the time?

Just outta curiousity.

And maybe others might have suggestions for you to. 8)


Haha lol I would need a dry ice truck sitting outside my house all the time 8)


True that. Or you could just purchase liquid nitrogen? 8)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 10:13 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24345
Location: South of heaven
I'm not taking away from sno.lcn here. He's taken a pretty fun step in experimenting a bit.

But you guys must know a drag racer from a fast touring car before drool falls out. When he's out of N2, the fun stops and it goes off line. No 24/7 operation, no hours at TF2/CoD4, no work forming some in depth 3D world, or whatever we may find in actual use of a computer. It's a drag race machine with one intent, and that's go very fast, for a relatively very short time. That's why you don't pull up to a stop light next to a Bonneville salt flat car often...err...ever.

GJ, and sorry for detracting! Just...uh...keeping it real? LOL...not sure really.

sno.lcn, have you ever pondered what you can do with liquid Helium? The gas has been on a shortage (only Kansas is known to have it on earth), but the liquid isn't that rare. I think you should be able to get it from the same place you sourced N2 (lab supply?). Different handling to learn though!

http://www.5min.com/Video/Superfluid-Li ... on-1885819


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 2:48 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:48 am
Posts: 164
Location: In the BIOS
Gailim wrote:
p.s. I don't know if you will be able to hit 4.0ghz on a Cedar Mill P4 but good hunting!


I just read this. Havent gotten my new mobo up and running (need a power adapter - being shipped to me as I speak), but this article caught my eye, and this was on a 955 chipset, surely a P35 can handle over a 300 bus speed, since it can go up much higher (ive seen 500 on them), i feel pretty confident I can get above 4.

http://www.legionhardware.com/document.php?id=439&p=1


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 10:44 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:33 am
Posts: 692
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Chumly wrote:
sno.lcn, have you ever pondered what you can do with liquid Helium? The gas has been on a shortage (only Kansas is known to have it on earth), but the liquid isn't that rare. I think you should be able to get it from the same place you sourced N2 (lab supply?). Different handling to learn though!

http://www.5min.com/Video/Superfluid-Li ... on-1885819


Dude, liquid helium is some dangerous stuff! Unlike liquid nitrogen, it's for sure one of those "kids, don't do this at home" things! :twisted:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 2:56 pm 
Team Dino
Team Dino
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:29 am
Posts: 6125
Location: Huntsville, Alabama.
n0b0dykn0ws wrote:
E2160 @ 3.0 GHz

Using a GigaByte P35-DS3L board.

Not bad for a >$100 board and >$80 CPU!

n0b0dykn0ws


So after buying some different RAM for the system, I got it up to 3.2 GHz.

Also, just for grins and giggles:

3D Mark 05

3D Mark 06

and from FAHMon

P4707 wrote:
Project : 4707
Core : GPUv2 Gromacs
Frames : 100
Credit : 98


-- STALINGRAD - 3870 --

Min. Time / Frame : 47s - 1801.53 ppd
Avg. Time / Frame : 49s - 1728.00 ppd


P4708 wrote:
Project : 4708
Core : GPUv2 Gromacs
Frames : 100
Credit : 182


-- STALINGRAD - 3870 --

Min. Time / Frame : 1mn 36s - 1638.00 ppd
Avg. Time / Frame : 1mn 39s - 1588.36 ppd


P4709 wrote:
Project : 4709
Core : GPUv2 Gromacs
Frames : 100
Credit : 182


-- STALINGRAD - 3870 --

Min. Time / Frame : 1mn 37s - 1621.11 ppd
Avg. Time / Frame : 1mn 40s - 1572.48 ppd


P4710 wrote:
Project : 4710
Core : GPUv2 Gromacs
Frames : 100
Credit : 182


-- STALINGRAD - 3870 --

Min. Time / Frame : 1mn 34s - 1672.85 ppd
Avg. Time / Frame : 1mn 39s - 1588.36 ppd


Those are for the GPU2 client running Folding@Home.

The only thing that has changed is I'm running a VisionTek 3870 at 800 MHz stock speed.

n0b0dykn0ws


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 3:11 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:48 am
Posts: 164
Location: In the BIOS
n0b0dykn0ws wrote:
n0b0dykn0ws wrote:
E2160 @ 3.0 GHz

Using a GigaByte P35-DS3L board.

Not bad for a >$100 board and >$80 CPU!

n0b0dykn0ws


So after buying some different RAM for the system, I got it up to 3.2 GHz.



an extra 1400 mhz is a great OC, good job! :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 7:50 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24345
Location: South of heaven
Nitro is funky too though! Without safe handling you can really lose a fingertip. Had some close calls!

I posted in another forum, but that 5Ghz on Nitro might be laid to waste with a water cooled E7200. The 9.5 and decent memory now makes that a walk in a park. Trying to get a full stability test before saying it's good as gold...but ya...so far, good!

For $134 and average cooling, 5Ghz is a walk in the park.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 8:52 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:33 am
Posts: 692
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Chumly wrote:
Nitro is funky too though! Without safe handling you can really lose a fingertip. Had some close calls!


Yes, but liquid helium is cold enough to instantly freeze all other gases it comes in contact with...and then there's that superfluid / zero viscosity trick helium-4 does around 2K. Nitro is a little more well-behaved and easier to store. :wink:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 12:23 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:51 am
Posts: 171
Location: Wandering amidst the stars...
Ooh.

I wonder how long it will be before someone tries helium cooling?

And I wonder...

can 5Ghz be reached on an AMD BE 5000+? 8)

I suppose I could try after getting better cooling.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 589 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27 ... 30  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.