Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:35 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 591 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 ... 30  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 5:16 pm 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:49 am
Posts: 71
Location: Midwestern US
chumly, what other benchmark tool should i use then, as i can't buy futuremark right now or pcmark05

we'll see; i'd rather not bet, only try it for the thrill of it


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:43 pm 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:12 pm
Posts: 363
Location: San Diego
Well... I'm not sure as to how well my proc is running, due to issues with 3dmark06 (see other thread 'Poor performing E4500?'), but this is what I've had my comp at for the past 2 weeks or so. CPU-z validated and all that.
CPU-z Validation page

Not too bad so far for stock HSF and first time builder/OC'er.

-------------------------------------
EDIT- Have my proc running very smoothly now and have installed a CoolerMaster TX2 HSF, another 120mm side window fan, and ArcticSilver5. OC'ed video card as well (used RivaTuner as Catalyst wasn't cutting it for me). Anyways here's the validation and I'm thinking I'm gonna stick with this for a while. Quite happy with 3Ghz :D Cheers!
CPU-z Validation link


Last edited by heartagram on Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:25 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:53 pm
Posts: 376
ok just to get curious and do some testing, i decided to see what I could get.
Specs:
Intel Q6600 G0 Revsion
Asus P5E-VM HDMI Micro Atx based on the G35 chipset
2GB PQI turbo memory timing 4-4-4-12
BFG 8800Ultra
WD Raptor
Creative X-FI Xtreme Gamer
Mushkin 580W PSU

I was only able to POST at this speed so it doesnt count
Image

I did however get windows to load at this speed, which is fast enough
Image

I still say thats pretty impressive for a MicroATX board.

If you have any tips on how to get windows to load at the higher speeds feel free to post up.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:27 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24373
Location: South of heaven
agenttatsuda wrote:
chumly, what other benchmark tool should i use then, as i can't buy futuremark right now or pcmark05

we'll see; i'd rather not bet, only try it for the thrill of it
The free versions are the best as they're the same user wide. The paid versions are adjustable, and you can't automatically trust what the user set it up as. It's often passed off as a score, and people generally don't catch that it's adjusted from the free version. PCmark05 is 3 years old anyway ;)

No more screen shots. Not even cameras of the BIOS.
Why?

"This is what I can do with my quad"
Image

CPUz is free, use it.

I can set anything in the BIOS, not save it, and take a picture. So can anyone else feeling clever. I'm not calling anyone a liar recently, but it's not trustworthy on any level, thus worthless.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 7:02 pm 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5203
Latest E6300 overclock:

Update: Clockspeed: 2604Mhz
Bus: 372Mhz
Multi: 7x (locked)

Sys temp: 30C (Full load)
CPU temp: 42C (Full load)
Core temps: 46-47C (Full load)

System spec's:

Core 2 Duo E6300
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
RAM: 2GB (2x 1GB) DDR2 667 Corsair XMS
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Video: Sapphire ATI Radeon HD3650 512MB GDDR2


http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=326205

Dan


Last edited by Belboz99 on Fri Mar 07, 2008 8:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 6:12 am 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 6:20 am
Posts: 2080
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
E4300 @3.5Ghz Rock Solid, W/ DFI Blood Iron, Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme, Transcend AxeRAM DDR-800. (up to 3.7Ghz unstable in F@H and/or Windows itself.)

I'll validate the 3.7Ghz when I have time to screw with the BIOS again but until then feel free to think of this as a delusion of grandeur or lie from someone who apparantly likes to go around making false OC claims for giggles on a board he's been contributing and folding for for months, eh? :wink:


Last edited by FusilliJerry82 on Sun Mar 09, 2008 12:55 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 12:15 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 1:17 am
Posts: 2947
Location: in front of my pc
suicide run on my E8400


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 12:50 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24373
Location: South of heaven
FusilliJerry82 wrote:
...but until then feel free to think of this as a delusion of grandeur or lie from someone who apparently likes to go around making false OC claims for giggles on a board he's been contributing and folding for for months, eh?
And I will. With every post made that says to validate, validate, validate...yet another pops up with no validation. No matter who it is, they get validation as being mandatory.

The first 20 pages are just people talking and claiming this and that. For the last several months we've asked for validation, told to validate, bolded the telling to validate...so now it's forced. You wouldn't be the first, validated or not.

Understand now? It's not to make an ass out of people, it's to get even remotely accurate data on what others get. People drift by forum after forum with claims, and they get busted here.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:49 pm 
Million Club 2+ [PC]*
Million Club 2+ [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:55 pm
Posts: 7891
With CPUz being free, the link for the validation being free, the validation taking less than a couple seconds to do, why wouldn't you do it?

If I don't see some sort of validation, I ignore the damned post. It's worthless bullshit if it isn't validated and this thread isn't titled:

"Tell us what your CPU speed is!"

It's:

"CPU speed brag time!"

The standards for this thread were set out early on. Not only that, but when talking about any overclocking bragging, it's the norm to provide valid proof of your overclock. It's the exception that allows people to post speeds without verification. The reason behind that is to keep good natured competition honest and the little brats from posting stupid shit.

Quote:
You ain't nothin. I got me a E8400 at 8.2GHz on a 650i.


Anyone can make that claim. But there aren't any who can back it up with good, solid proof.

So I'll ask one time. Why WOULDN'T you provide a CPUz link to remove all question of your claims?

IMHO, in a sticky thread at MaximumPC's Overclocking section, all these bullshit posts (including this one of mine) should be removed and "validated only" posts should remain.

Posts like this:

eddieddie wrote:
I rather stick with my default clock speeds. Longer life span is what I like.


Are worthless and irritate the living piss out of me when I'm going through, looking to see what others are getting on like systems.

BTW, thought I would do the validation myself for my Q6600 @ 3.2GHz on my 780i mobo.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:25 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:33 am
Posts: 692
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Yep...it's nothing personal, just validate, validate, validate! :)

Even I have caught a few BSers on this forum--and I'm still a relative noob to overclocking. I ignore any kind of screenshots. Even a CPU-Z validation dosen't prove you got the overclock stable, but at least it shows your overclock is stable enough to generate the validation.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:48 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:50 pm
Posts: 20
im excited to say i just overclocked my new system, and its running fine.
thanks to the forums here and special thanks to ravenhawk82 for the how to post for dummies.( thats me)

thermaltake mozarts tx case
thermaltake 800w power supply
asus maximus formula motherboard 1333MHz (this board is awsome)
4 gigs pc8500 1066MHz memory( my next o.c project)
q6600 proccesor was 2.4 now o.c to 3.0MHz
dual radeon hd3870x2 cards (quad crossfire is suspect do to the drivers)
and a raptor 10,000rmp 150 gig h.d


i still think only one card is running but not sure im really a newb to this.

i bought and ran 3dmark06 and my pre test score was 14450, or close i cant remeber.
my test score after the o.c is 16955

so my question, to prove im a newb, is how do i take a screenshot of the scores and CPU-Z to post them here?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:29 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24373
Location: South of heaven
Quakindude wrote:
IMHO, in a sticky thread at MaximumPC's Overclocking section, all these bullshit posts (including this one of mine) should be removed and "validated only" posts should remain.
Oh, hell no! Not this good old fashion rant. It'll be used as a spit projectile for the rest of the forums to see how it's done here. The others may end up in the fill this weekend, but yours? No...
Quakindude wrote:
BTW, thought I would do the validation myself for my Q6600 @ 3.2GHz on my 780i mobo.
Thanks.

And I'll give mine in this spot with a huge disclaimer.
4320.17 MHz (480.02 * 9), with 400Mhz memory at CAS5. One 120mm panaflo at 70%, one blowhole 80mm panaflo at 50%, no others. CPU at 42C and 1.35v on a $100 Asus P5K-E.

The disclaimer is that this validation at 3.6Ghz is what I run at. Anything above that boots, runs, and would be what the common user would say is stable. It's not once dug into. There's little here and there errors that I don't like. Yes, it's "stable" at 4.5Ghz, but if there's errors on any level...it's bad.

If I'm going to tell others that it's more than FSB x Multiplier=Cycles thus equaling something to actually want, then I will show that 4.5Ghz is not as good as 3.6Ghz. What I noticed at 4.0Ghz and up were major hard drive blocks with an ICH9R. At 4.0Ghz exactly I had minor collisions At 3.8 it all went away, but had some very minor memory side errors according to my personal usage. At 3.6Ghz, I get no errors what so ever, run 1:1, and the memory intensive apps are a touch above the 3.8-4.0 runs.

Max speed is not max livability, or even peak performance.


Last edited by Chumly on Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:24 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:53 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:41 pm
Posts: 4106
Location: Stuck at Tim Horton's Drive-Thru!!
CPU-Z validation for N1K.

Thanks to those that helped with the tips to get me here...might still try for 3.2...we'll see! :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 8:42 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:50 pm
Posts: 20
am i gonna burn it up?
ive now got a good overclock on my q6600 from 2.4 to 3.5GHz
4 gigs of reaper pc8500 ddr2@1066
quad crossfire seems to be working 2 hd3870x2 cards overclocked slightly with the catalyst control centers o.c program
and heres where i stand

Image

my processor is running hot, at about 50c to 52c started at less than 40degrees

do i back it down , get more fans, or leave it run?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:02 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
Here's my max "stable" OC with minimal tweaking (I still get lockups about once a week it seems).
I have gone up to ~1511 FSB (3.4GHz) but it usually locks up every day or so.
Not really sure what the max this thing will do is, havent pushed it.

Runs about 60C based on CoreTemp (95% FAH SMP load), FWIW.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:23 am 
Million Club 2+ [PC]*
Million Club 2+ [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:55 pm
Posts: 7891
tweety wrote:
am i gonna burn it up?
my processor is running hot, at about 50c to 52c started at less than 40degrees

do i back it down , get more fans, or leave it run?


52°C is a very good temp for that high of an overclock. Anything below 70 loaded is good. What are you using to load the CPU with? If that's idle temps, use Prime95 v25.5 to load the CPU and see where your temps go. Just be warned, when you use Prime95, just clicking the X in the upper right hand of the window simply minimizes the app, it doesn't stop it. Use File-Stop or File-Exit if temps go over 70°C.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 9:23 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:50 pm
Posts: 20
i was just loading with gaming, thats all i do, that temp was after an hour of cod4, but i did what u said, and ran the prime95.
my temp on the cpu went to 60c, on my cpu, and my system stayed at 52c
but i dont think i ever put that much strain on it with cod or the other games i play.
thanks for the input


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 8:18 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:11 am
Posts: 1681
http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=330349

What do you think? It's only at 30 Celsius


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:54 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:10 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Orange County -California
Okay this is my first time overclocking can someone let me know if the temperature is ok to leave or i have to bring it down more

I have a Quad Q6600 OC at 3015mhz coreV at 1.26v all 4 core temp at
48C idle/65C 100% load that is on stock CPU fan is it okay if it reach 65C at load don't know how high can you go but it seem to be stable

and my Geforce 8800GTS 512MB i OC (GPU at 800MHz-Shader 1998MHz-Memory 1030MHz) and temp is at 32c that should be okay right when it load it goes to like 35c. i set the fan at 85%

this is all running on air i have 5 120mm fan 2 exhaust and 3 blowing in. so do you think the temp are okay if i run my comp like this and do anyone know any software i can speed up the cpu fan. any suggestion would be appreciated.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 11:33 pm 
Million Club 5+ [PC]*
Million Club 5+ [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:23 pm
Posts: 6233
Location: Florida
http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=331290
look ma im validated


Last edited by Gailim on Tue Mar 18, 2008 6:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 591 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 ... 30  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.