Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:45 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Using Core 2 Duo for home server?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:57 pm 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:17 pm
Posts: 1483
For those of you who have built home-servers, Would a Core 2 Duo (such as an E7500) be sufficient for streaming HD to a few devices via a wired home network?

I've got a spare one sitting around, with a board, and 4GB of RAM and was thinking of rebuilding/redoing my current server (which is an Atom N330 board) with the Core 2 Duo since the Atom can seem to only handle one or two devices at once, and doesn't seem to work very well other than just as an Internet-browsing/word processing computer).

I want to make something that will allow me to stream HD to at least two devices at the same time (via the wired gigabit network I have).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Core 2 Duo for home server?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 12:21 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5397
It depends on if it's transcoding beforehand (a la PlayStation Home Media Server) or if it's just serving files. If it's the latter, then it's plenty equipped for the job.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Core 2 Duo for home server?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 8:26 pm 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:17 pm
Posts: 1483
To be honest (and I don't keep up on the PS3 stuff that much) but doesn't the ps3 transcode on its own (or are you just talking about converting videos and compressing them on the server... in that case, no, the server will not be doing that--I'll do that on my laptop before I put them on the server). But I do have some "raw" ripped blu-ray movies that are not compressed or changed from their original form that I'd like to just be able to read on the PS3 from the server.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Core 2 Duo for home server?
PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 8:28 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5397
The PlayStation Home Media Server transcodes videos beforehand before shipping them off to the recipient because a lot of devices (the PS3, obviously) are really picky about what format the video is in.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.