Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:38 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New Laptop CPU
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:49 am 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 1:45 am
Posts: 242
I have a laptop with a AMD Sempron 3500+, and was curious if this CPU would work in it?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/AMD-Turion-64-X ... 1c315efcbd
and can it be upgraded to 4GB of DDR2? I have 2GB in it right now. I want to upgrade this computer because I use it all the time for stuff like internet, music and Skype while gaming on my desktop and would like to have a little more speed. Also... are there any IDE SSD's? Like a 120GB? Just curious, might get one if they're cheapish. Oh and are there any keyboards that would fit it that have a back light? Thanks! :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Laptop CPU
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 12:17 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5025
I can tell you...
  • Yes you can use the CPU, it's socket compatible. But it has a higher TDP, your laptop may not be able to cool it sufficiently.
  • Yes you can upgrade to 4GB
  • No there are no IDE SSDs (IDE is too slow anyway)
  • No there are no backlit keyboards for your laptop.

Please use Google/Bing/Yahoo/Ask next time.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Laptop CPU
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 3:02 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 1:45 am
Posts: 242
OK! Thanks! I'll try using Google more.

Off topic(ish), I tried Googling it but found nothing. I am using a GTX 580 3072MB and I have a 2048MB GT 440. I was curious would I gain FPS if I used the 440 for CUDA? Or would it not help? Also I was gonna use the 440 in a desktop I built but it had a bad PSU and had a power overload. So I am not 100% sure if it works, plus I never used it before then. Thanks! :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Laptop CPU
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 6:21 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 5:46 am
Posts: 113
Umm... CUDA is the name for Nvidia's GPU compute technology. It has NOTHING to do with gaming. If you're referring to PhysX then yes, you can use the other card as a PhysX processor. Keep in mind that you need to use up to date drivers and the game has to support PhysX specifically or you'll see no advantage to this setup.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group