Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 5:54 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Question Question Question chooose A. or B.
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 2:25 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 1:52 am
Posts: 10
hi i got one more question about my OCing... which do u guys think is better for my OC? A or B
A. 2.3ghz with 191.mhz ram or...

B. 2.2ghz with 220.mhz ram

(stock ram are pc 3200[200mhz stock])

so i gain 20 mhz in ram speed or loose 9mhz and gain 100 mhz cpu speed?

o yeah i am mostly GAME. (doom3)

cpu=athlon 64 3200+ thnx alot in advance


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 12:47 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
-A stock 3200+ is fine for anything. I question your reasoning to OC.

-ratio...check your ratio. I THINK you're running asynch...run synchronous (1:1).

-Can't you eek out 9 more Mhz on "A" ???

-And run a benchmark like Sandra. This should give you a pretty graph to tell you which is better.


Last edited by Chumly on Sun Aug 15, 2004 12:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 12:50 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 1:52 am
Posts: 10
the thing is i dont know if my motherboard will support it.. the ratio thingy 1:1 5:4 etc... i dont have that any other way i can do that ? or can i OC my cpu a lil more to gain back the 9 mhz?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 12:52 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
To make up the 9Mhz, ya...try the next jump in FSB. It may or may not work. If you get the 200Mhz FSB back, I'll guess "A".

If you don't have the option for ratio, the that's cool I guess. Can't do anything about it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 1:57 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 1:52 am
Posts: 10
thnx for replaying i will try sandra and see which is better :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 8:47 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 11:08 am
Posts: 109
This depends totally on the motherboard used and if it will (can) adjust well to the overhead of better ram (EG overclock well). If you have a good VIA or nVIDA mainboard then get the better ram (EG higher rated your ram). You always want more overhead with ram because you may 'need' it in next system. In other words, when I buy ram I get the best ram I can afford at the time with the highest rated speed...that is fully compatible. You can always manually "sync " your FSB and DRAM easily in the bios with expert settings if it's rated above your FSB chips and you decide to run 1:1 (downclock).


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group