Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 6:19 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: New Ivy Bridge Build for Graphic Design/Business
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:19 am 

Hi Guys,
My experience: I'm new to doing my own builds. I do have experience digging into and tearing apart and upgrading PCs and laptops. In my previous job I worked with servers in a data center and I also ran a business network through an IBM AS400. So I do have experience and I'm not afraid of experimenting.

My needs: I run a custom ceramic poker chip business. I do a lot of graphic design for customer projects - custom poker chips, dealer buttons and plaques. I also have to manage the business through the same computer. I am moving away from MS Office and have decided to use Open Office from now on. My graphic design software is Adobe Creative Suite 6 (CS6). The two programs I run the most are Illustrator and Photoshop. Dreamweaver is used to maintain our website. I use Chrome extensively. Usually I will have more than six tabs and two separate windows open while I'm running my CS6 programs and Open Office. I would like to run two HD monitors eventually.

My problems: I've been running into memory and graphic card compatibility warnings. I've also had crashes when putting my computer to sleep when I am working on projects. I've been running all this on a three year old HP laptop so it's no wonder I have had issues.

All that being said I just don't have enough knowledge about compatibility and I don't have the time to research the whole build any more than I already have. I think I've come up with something I can upgrade and improve over time so that I don't have to completely replace it in two years.

Things I already own:
Wireless keyboard and mouse combo.
19" HD monitor
120gb Sandisk SSD
Adobe CS6
Printer
Wireless Router
Speakers