Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 7:46 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Need HELP choosing new nForce2 mobo
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 4:24 am 

Long time lurker, first time posting on ANY forum, so let's get right to it. I've been building / repairing PCs for nearly twelve years now, though I retired from full-time work a few years ago, and tend to spend most of my free time on extended motorcycle trips these days.

I want to build a BUDGET system, using an nForce2 motherboard which I can overclock to hell and back. I already have an AMD Mobile CPU (2600+), along with DDR-RAM (512 x 2). Now, I want to build one nForce2-based system using a "bang-for-the-buck" perspective; the motherboards I'm considering include (in alphabetical order):

1. Abit NF7-S

2. Albatron KX18D Pro

3. Biostar M7NCD { 2 DIMM slots }

4. Biostar M7NCD Pro { 3 DIMM slots }

5. Biostar M7NCD Ultra { 3 DIMM slots; SATA / RAID }

6. DFI NF2 U400 S-AL

7. EpoX EP-8RDA3IPro { with SATA / RAID }

8. EpoX EP-8RDA+Pro { with FireWire; no RAID }

9. Soltek SL-75FRN2-RL

The EpoX and Soltek boards seem to have the most room between the voltage regulator caps and the ZIF socket, which is a consideration for cooling; I don't want to be limited in the size of the HSF I can install, because of the layout of the caps.

Another plus for the EpoX boards is the POST-code LED block, a feature I consider LONG overdue on consumer-level boards; the heatsink included on the southbridge just makes it that much nicer.

I'm not a fan of the Asus A7N8X boards, I'm not convinced that any of the Gigabyte or MSI nForce boards overclock well, and I'm not really interested in any cheap crap from PCChips, ECS, Chaintech, or any of the other bottom-feeders of the PC world.