Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 1:33 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New PSU for new system, a bit of help please?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:22 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 10:16 pm
Posts: 892
Location: the bay, we fresh
AMD s939 3000+
MSI RS480M2-IL w/ onboard Video
Kingston 512mb PC3200 Valueram
Western Digital 80gb SATA drive
Lite On CD-RW Drive
INWIN Z-Series Black MicroATX Mini Tower Case With 300W Power Supply

Okay, A few Questions:
I need a PSU with 24-pin right?
Can anyone estimate the max fps I can get out of this on HL2? (medium and low settings)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:39 am 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:44 pm
Posts: 397
not sure about the pin, but whatever you do DO NOT GET ONBOARD VIDEO!!!!!!!!! :shock: :shock: :shock: onboard audio...maybe but not video try getting a new mobo mostly a nforce4 ultra or nforce3 at least. if you get the different mobo ten you'll have to get a different case. you may want to get 1gb of ram same brand if you can afford it. are you on abudget? if so how much??? sorry i couldnt answer your question, but this info should be very usefull to you and the hardware not disappointing either


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:06 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
Did you consider the Antec Aria?

I have to disagree with Fur here. The ATI XPress chip is NOT by any means generic, and ATI has really stepped up with it. I'd say they're in the same ballpark as VIA (ahead of them), who aren't too far off from nVidia.

A motherboard with a 24-pin connector on the nForce/VIA/ATI PCI-E chipsets means that it needs to supply sufficient power straight to the PCI-E card. Since this system doesn't have one, I think you'd be safe with a 20-pin one. Or, if you want to be sure, just get this or this.

Don't expect high frames even with low settings. At most 35 fps on 800x600.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:40 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:44 pm
Posts: 397
but if he wants to get good frames then he should get a PCI-E card or AGP. i still say dont get onboard video 8)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:58 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
Around_the_Fur wrote:
but if he wants to get good frames then he should get a PCI-E card or AGP.


Umm... obviously. :roll:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 4:02 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:44 pm
Posts: 397
i never said it was generic.......


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 4:17 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
I never accused you...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 4:22 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:44 pm
Posts: 397
Quote:
I have to disagree with Fur here. The ATI XPress chip is NOT by any means generic,

sounds like it but anyway who cares? goodday sir


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 4:40 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 10:16 pm
Posts: 892
Location: the bay, we fresh
OCNoob wrote:
Did you consider the Antec Aria?

I was going for that, but then I thought, since the board was micro ATX, why not go with a mATX case?

Thanks for the tips.

Yeah, I did a bit of research on the board from anandtech forums, the 200 chipset seems to be around the same as a 9700, so hl2 should be playable on it at low framse (runs okay on my gf2, too)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 6:28 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
blackzarg wrote:
OCNoob wrote:
Did you consider the Antec Aria?

I was going for that, but then I thought, since the board was micro ATX, why not go with a mATX case?

Thanks for the tips.

Yeah, I did a bit of research on the board from anandtech forums, the 200 chipset seems to be around the same as a 9700, so hl2 should be playable on it at low framse (runs okay on my gf2, too)


Are you sure the little guy is as powerful as the 9700? The 9700 had 8 full pipes while I thought the XPress was less (1)? Anyway, I hope I'm wrong because if ATI's stuffing 9700's on these boards, then it'll be a grand day for budgeters. Likely won't happen, but hey! :P


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 6:30 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
Around_the_Fur wrote:
Quote:
I have to disagree with Fur here. The ATI XPress chip is NOT by any means generic,

sounds like it but anyway who cares? goodday sir


LOL Okay you win.

PWNED BY YOU! :D

Edit: I take this back. I re-read my own words one more time.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 10:24 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 10:16 pm
Posts: 892
Location: the bay, we fresh
OCNoob wrote:
Are you sure the little guy is as powerful as the 9700? The 9700 had 8 full pipes while I thought the XPress was less (1)? Anyway, I hope I'm wrong because if ATI's stuffing 9700's on these boards, then it'll be a grand day for budgeters. Likely won't happen, but hey! :P


Well, okay, so there are no benchmarks, but here's a guy's quote:
The IGP is the best I've ever seen. It only scored a 604 on 3DMark05, but I've never seen an IGP that could even run 3DMark05 before. I ran the Unreal Tournament 2003 Demo benchmarks at 1024x768 No AA/AF and the IGP dished up 59.64fps on Flyby and 40.14fps on Botmatch with settings on maximum detail. I play EVE Online, a MMORPG that was one of the first DX9 games to ship to retail. I play it on maximum detail at 1280x1024, and it still looks and feels like I'm playing it on my Radeon 9700.

Seems pretty good too me. The board doesn't have any overclocking features, though


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 10:29 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 10:16 pm
Posts: 892
Location: the bay, we fresh
Around_the_Fur wrote:
not sure about the pin, but whatever you do DO NOT GET ONBOARD VIDEO!!!!!!!!! :shock: :shock: :shock: onboard audio...maybe but not video try getting a new mobo mostly a nforce4 ultra or nforce3 at least. if you get the different mobo ten you'll have to get a different case. you may want to get 1gb of ram same brand if you can afford it. are you on abudget? if so how much??? sorry i couldnt answer your question, but this info should be very usefull to you and the hardware not disappointing either


Sorry, as to answer you questions: The budget is $500 (my friend's) , He can deal with the onboard, as long as it plays HL2 and WOW, and the case isn't final yet.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 12:20 am 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:44 pm
Posts: 397
whoa, ok then


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 7:47 am 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
blackzarg wrote:
OCNoob wrote:
Are you sure the little guy is as powerful as the 9700? The 9700 had 8 full pipes while I thought the XPress was less (1)? Anyway, I hope I'm wrong because if ATI's stuffing 9700's on these boards, then it'll be a grand day for budgeters. Likely won't happen, but hey! :P


Well, okay, so there are no benchmarks, but here's a guy's quote:
The IGP is the best I've ever seen. It only scored a 604 on 3DMark05, but I've never seen an IGP that could even run 3DMark05 before. I ran the Unreal Tournament 2003 Demo benchmarks at 1024x768 No AA/AF and the IGP dished up 59.64fps on Flyby and 40.14fps on Botmatch with settings on maximum detail. I play EVE Online, a MMORPG that was one of the first DX9 games to ship to retail. I play it on maximum detail at 1280x1024, and it still looks and feels like I'm playing it on my Radeon 9700.

Seems pretty good too me.


You still wondering about HL2? Anyway, the board is the best option to go anyway because it has the PCI-E slot.

blackzarg wrote:
The board doesn't have any overclocking features, though


Yeah, I caught that when I saw the Newegg review ROFL :P


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.