Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:57 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Upgrading RAM
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 5:55 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 9:57 am
Posts: 350
Location: NJ
My system currently has the Crucial Ballistix 512MB ddr pc3200 (2 x 256) and I'm currently looking to upgrade to at least 1GB. The price of the 256MB module has recently gone down. I'm going to get another pair of 256MB Crucial Ballistix to total 1GB (4 x 256)

Does this seem like a good choice? All (4) of my slots will be taken, but I don't think I'll be needing another memory upgrade after this.

Let me know your thoughts?

-misterLOBY


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 5:57 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:51 pm
Posts: 844
have you checked any reviews of your motherboard / that memory with all four slots used?

it seems like a lot of motherboards get a little bitchy as to how/if they'll work with all 4 slots filled.

which motherboard?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 5:59 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 9:57 am
Posts: 350
Location: NJ
maddingo wrote:
have you checked any reviews of your motherboard / that memory with all four slots used?

it seems like a lot of motherboards get a little bitchy as to how/if they'll work with all 4 slots filled.

which motherboard?


Really? I didn't know that. I guess I'll have to check it out. The motherboard I have is Abit IC7-G


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:08 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:51 pm
Posts: 844
you may be ok

check this out:

http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=1822&p=6


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:36 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 9:57 am
Posts: 350
Location: NJ
maddingo wrote:


Thanks. I just read the article and it looks good for my board. Just for precautions, I'm browsing the forums over at abit.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 7:04 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
Intel boards seem fine with all 4 slots filled, its the nforce systems that have problems.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group