Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 11:10 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Building Top end Pc and going insane!!!!!
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 10:12 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 9:03 am
Posts: 6
Location: Canada
I built a Pc last summer but as my GF needs a new comp I figured I would give her mine and build a new Top of the line one.

All i have been able to decide on is:

Lian-Li Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower Case
AMD Athlon 64 FX55 proc
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe mobo
SILVERSTONETEK 650w Sli ready Psu

I know i want to have a pci-e videocard but im still not sure how sli tech works. I would also like to know your personal thoughts on how much ram is too much :). For HDs I was thinking of two 74GB WD raptors in raid 0 but that again is up in the air.... :?

any and all oppinions welcome....I need Help!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 10:25 am 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 4956
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
And budget constraints?
If not.....
Then 2 gigs 'o RAM, 2 6800 Ultras, two 74GB raptors and another 2 300GB Diamond Max 10's oughta do it :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 10:45 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 9:03 am
Posts: 6
Location: Canada
no problem with paying for it all. :P

only 2 gigs of ram? why not more?

why 2 6800 ultra's? i need to know more about sli tech!!!

and why the 2 300GB HDs?? are they good?

thank you again for the help!:)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 2:16 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 2:18 pm
Posts: 689
Location: South Elgin IL
fenier wrote:
no problem with paying for it all. :P

only 2 gigs of ram? why not more?

why 2 6800 ultra's? i need to know more about sli tech!!!

and why the 2 300GB HDs?? are they good?

thank you again for the help!:)


2 gigs of ram is alot...and if you have more it probably wont get used. if you went with 4 gigs you would most likely go through 2 or 3 processor changes before 4 gigs is mainstream.

2 ultras because that is currently the fastest video setup you can get. sli works by putting 2 of the same card next to each other and having a chip bridge the 2 together and each card renders half the screen then puts the image together before it gets to your monitor.

and i believe the HD's that are being talked about are the maxtor drives with the 16mb cache. they are currently the fastest large capacity drives you can get. and 2 of them cause you want a wicked system.

as for the proc...wait for the FX-57 to come out i think it will be out very soon but im not exactly sure when.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 4:10 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 12:31 am
Posts: 337
Quote:
For HDs I was thinking of two 74GB WD raptors in raid 0 but that again is up in the air....


I'm hearing alot of people saying that the 250 or 300Gb Maxtors http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=22-140-153&depa=1 Have simular performance as the raptors due to its 16 Mb buffer.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 5:30 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:31 am
Posts: 31
Location: Pierre, SD
Are you actually doing this? When would be a factor, because of the newer stuff coming out. Also, what do you do to pay for it! Can I have a loan? :lol: :wink:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 5:45 pm 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
how many slots?? 4 gigs o ram :shock:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 7:23 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:44 pm
Posts: 397
on gamespot.com the benchmarks show that the MSI sli board performs better with Half life2 and doom3, oh and 3dmarks than the asus mobo it has onboard soundblaster live 7.1 sourround or something like that. um check it out
btw does anyone else have any links like this for the SLI mobos that are out?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 7:41 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 2:38 pm
Posts: 54
Just get two sticks of 1GB each for now. which gives you two slots to add some ram later. the Maxtor Diamondmax 10's at 300gb are good, get those.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 7:53 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 9:03 am
Posts: 6
Location: Canada
wil there be a huge difference if i wait for the fx57 proc???. i already bought the asus mobo so that cant change and also go tthe case and psu. when can i expect the FX 57 to be released?????? im looking into the maxtor HDs right now. anyone have any info on the new X850 videocards vs the 6800s?

thx for the help

Edit: on the newegg site they list the seek time on the raptors as 4.5ms and the maxtors at 9ms. isent this quite a large difference????


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 8:30 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 2:47 pm
Posts: 113
Ok if money isnt an a factor in what your getting then I suggest this......
Seagate 73GB 15,000RPM SCSI (seek time 3.4 secs) but that will cost you $541 each. However I wouldnt spend the money on that, I would go for the 2 raptors it is definitly faster than the 300gb HD.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 1:24 am 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:44 pm
Posts: 397
better off getting the x800XT the x850 is LOUD AND HUGE sounds like a leafblower! :shock:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:16 am 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
If tech support matters to you, you may want to rethink the mobo. A lot of Asus's tech support section of their web site has been down for the last few weeks. While it's possible you won't need it, it's also possible you will. Before making a decision, you should use their site to try to get help for a problem, just to see if it's working.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:10 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
Blondie wrote:
If tech support matters to you, you may want to rethink the mobo. A lot of Asus's tech support section of their web site has been down for the last few weeks. While it's possible you won't need it, it's also possible you will. Before making a decision, you should use their site to try to get help for a problem, just to see if it's working.
he already bought the motherboard. go with the dual 6800 ultras, ATI pales in comparison, and they also have no sli solution.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:10 am 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
fenier wrote:
wil there be a huge difference if i wait for the fx57 proc???


If you start playing the 'waiting game,' you'll never stop. There's always something seemingly right around the corner.

As for the x850XT PE, it's the fastest single card solution available today. To address Around_the_Fur's comments, the leaf blower comment is misleading. The card is loud when you first turn on your computer, and then the fan slows way down. When testing/stressing the card, MaximumPC was never able to get it to blow at full blast again, and this is consistent with other online reviews.

For the fastest gaming solution, you'd need to switch back to nVidia and go with 2x6800 Ultras (dependant on the game, of course).

Naturally, all of this represents some heavy overkill but it sounds like that's the direction you'd like to take. We'll be happy to accomodate, however for the best recommendations it would helpful to know exactly what you plan on doing with your computer (mainly gaming, photo editing, etc).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:28 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 6:12 am
Posts: 139
Location: Las Vegas, NV
First of all, ditch the ASUS board...DFI is the way to go. Second, RAID0 is way overhyped, if you have to do RAID, go RAID5 or 10. I'd also recommend the Maxtor DM10 over the WD Raptor, the difference in performance isn't that much, and the price and pure capacity really makes the Maxtor a better deal.
As to the FX57, moving to 90nm should make it a much better O/Cer, on top of being 2.8GHz, 90nm will definitely have better thermal properties......hold out for a month, it should start being released around the 5th to 10th of April.


Last edited by capper5016 on Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:31 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
capper5016 wrote:
First of all, ditch the ASUS board...DFI is the way to go. Second, RAID0 is way overhyped, if you have to do RAID, go RAID5 or 10. I'd also recommend the Maxtor DM10 over the WD Raptor, the difference in performance isn't that much, and the price and pure capacity really makes the Maxtor a better deal.
As to the FX57, moving to 90nm should make it a much better O/Cer, on top of being 2.8GHz, 90nm will definitely have better thermal properties......hold out for a month, it should start being eleased around the 5th to 10th of April.
first of all, HE ALREADY HAS THE ASUS MOTHERBOARD!! he isnt going to buy another one, the asus is a good board, there may be better, but that does not diminish the fact that the Asus is a good board.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:50 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 6:12 am
Posts: 139
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Jesus Christ...what is it with some people on this board????
where does it say he already has an ASUS board? He only says it is one of the things he has decided on, not that he has it....dude, chill out, maybe get laid, lay off the caffiene...I don't know.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 6:13 am 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
capper5016 wrote:
where does it say he already has an ASUS board?


10th post down, I almost missed it myself.

fenier wrote:
i already bought the asus mobo so that cant change and also go tthe case and psu.


I concur with the RAID 0 and Diamondmax 10, which is why I want to know what he plans on using his rig for. I also would have chosen a different mobo, but no biggie if he already has it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 6:21 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 6:12 am
Posts: 139
Location: Las Vegas, NV
my bad...didn't see it....but still....all buds must chill.
I'm not a big RAID fan....I'd simply go with the DM10 or a 400GB Hitachi, another very good brand.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.