Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:02 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Enough power for a MSI 6600 GT
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 10:30 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 4:59 pm
Posts: 90
Hello all,

I have an Enermax noisetaker 420w, and just bought an MSI GeForce 6600 GT. I read that the 6600 needs an additional molex connecter for extra power, but im not sure i have the juice for this. The power supply has three wires w/ molex connectors: one branch w/ three connectors, two of which are powering my optical drives, one with two connecters, powering my HDD and two case fans, and another with one or two, powering my other two case fans and a "lamp", which is really just a decoration, but I still enjoy it. How should I hook up my new vidcard, so that I dont put too big a strain on my PSU?


Last edited by Inkorporeal on Tue Mar 15, 2005 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Enough power for a MSI 6600 GT
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 12:55 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
Inkorporeal wrote:
Hello all,

I have an Enermax noisetaker 420w, and just bought an [url=http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=321917] MSI GeForce 6600 GT. I read that the 6600 needs an additional molex connecter for extra power, but im not sure i have the juice for this. The power supply has three wires w/ molex connectors: one branch w/ three connectors, two of which are powering my optical drives, one with two connecters, powering my HDD and two case fans, and another with one or two, powering my other two case fans and a "lamp", which is really just a decoration, but I still enjoy it. How should I hook up my new vidcard, so that I dont put too big a strain on my PSU?


The 420W'er should be able to handle all of that. If possible, give the card its own seperate rail so that the electricity being fed to it is stable.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 1:34 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 4:59 pm
Posts: 90
Can i put the two Optical Drives and the one HDD on the same wire (has three molex plugs) or would this be too much?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 5:05 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
If you're not constantly reading optical drives, then it'd be good.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 5:20 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 11:38 am
Posts: 1258
Location: config t
Inkorporeal wrote:
Can i put the two Optical Drives and the one HDD on the same wire (has three molex plugs) or would this be too much?


::deleted:: *sigh*, you should be fine....I need to learn ohms law again.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 6:20 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 8:48 pm
Posts: 116
I thought that the 6600 GT got all the juice it wanted right from the mobo?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 6:40 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 4:59 pm
Posts: 90
Well, I just opened the case, and i realized, i only have 4 molex connectors. I have 2 optical drives, and 1 HDD, and 4 casefans. the only thing I can think of is to run the card off of the molex that controlls 2 of the case fans. I have a casefan controller, so i can make them run slower then full speed, if absolutely necessary. Would 2 casefans affect the voltage of the card that much?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 8:01 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
Inkorporeal wrote:
Well, I just opened the case, and i realized, i only have 4 molex connectors. I have 2 optical drives, and 1 HDD, and 4 casefans. the only thing I can think of is to run the card off of the molex that controlls 2 of the case fans. I have a casefan controller, so i can make them run slower then full speed, if absolutely necessary. Would 2 casefans affect the voltage of the card that much?


Nope. They take up very minimal energy to run.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 8:09 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 4:51 pm
Posts: 58
MC-Screwdriver wrote:
I thought that the 6600 GT got all the juice it wanted right from the mobo?


Not the AGP version. Needs the extra juice not supplied by the AGP slot.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 5:01 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
you should be fine with that psu. im running an optical, hdd and a geforce 6800nu off of a 400watt antec smart power.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 5:07 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 4:59 pm
Posts: 90
Well, thats good to hear. Didn't really feel like paying the 15% restocking fee, or trying to run HL2 @ high res on a Radeon 9200. Thanks for the help.






Ink


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group