Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 4:02 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New PC
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:36 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:01 pm
Posts: 297
Hi, I'm buying a new PC.
I need help with the mainboard.
I'm between the new Intel's Chipset and AMD.

I've seen these two mainboards:

- Abit Fatal1ty AA8XE
Which uses Intel 925XE Chipset and uses DDR2 at 533Mhz.
It says it can change a 800MHz FSB CPU to a 1066MHz Front Side Bus thanks to ABIT's CPU Accelerator Technology

or use the
- ABIT Fatal1ty AN8
Which uses Nvidia's NForce 4 Ultra and DDR at 400Mhz. Uses the AMD Athlon 64 or the FX Processor with a FSB up to 2Ghz.

Both are PCI Express x16.

Which is better the 64-Bit Processor which now is useless and the increased 2Ghz FSB or the Increased DDR2 Memory speed of 533Mhz and the increse of 800Mhz to 1066Mhz FSB(if that really works?)
What do you think about Abit's CPU Accelerator Technology?
Thanks a lot![/url]


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 1:50 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:51 pm
Posts: 844
Which is better ... well arguably depends on what ya'll want to do with it?

Games.... no contest A64 simply kicks the pentium4 ass right now.

If you were going to run Photoshop 24/7 you might want to get a p4 *(although) I do a lot of Photoshop and w/ my athlon 64 3200 I’ve got no complaints with the performance.

One thing that is really nice w/ the Athlon64 is the Cool and Quite technology, which allows compatible motherboards to underclock the athlon64 while idling and as such reduce heat, power consumption and noise (with temp sensing fan).


My 3200 idles at about 27 C in a room that has ambient temp of about 20 C under load I’ve not seen it go over 38C on the stock cooler.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 3:08 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:01 pm
Posts: 297
can I use the AMD64 3500+ on a small Case with no side vents? or it should have side vents?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 3:20 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
rodigl wrote:
can I use the AMD64 3500+ on a small Case with no side vents? or it should have side vents?


if you get the 90nm version theres a good chance, yes. they are very good with heat and power consumption.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 3:47 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:01 pm
Posts: 297
I was planning on using the Antec P160 with the 0.13 Micron 3800+ or the 4000+

Do you think I could have heating problems?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:20 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
oh shit, i thought you meant a little SFF box. ANY AMD cpu will be fine in that case. i'd still reccomend the 3500 with then 90 but if you have the bucks then by all means get the 3800+ or 4000+


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group