Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 1:00 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Compaq 5000US CPU Upgrade?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 7:29 pm 

I cant believe Ive been tinkering with comps for about 8 yrs and have never come across this BBS. Great forum with loads of info!

However, Im looking for some info that Ive not been able to find here or anywhere else on the net.

A buddy of mine has a Compaq 5000US. Today I installed some additional RAM and a NIC for him and he asked me if we could upgrade the processor.

Ive scoured Compaqs site and havent couldnt find any info on the mobo. Unfortunately I was on my way out when he asked me so I didnt get the board model #. I do know that he currently has a 750 Duron.

Has anyone heard of or done a processor upgrade on this particular machine?

Any info would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

-J

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:30 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer

Have you tried running either Everest or SiSoft Sandra? Both will give you a bevy of information regarding your/his system:

Everest
Sandra

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:04 am 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator

Yes, I have that same box, upgraded just about everything- ram, processor, vid card, HD, OS. From experience, it is not worth it. What you are sinking into it will be as much as going to I buy Power or Cyber Power & buying a decent Barton system. I really do not recommend sinking the money into it. The computer has PC133 memory, which is very old and slow.

If your still interested, I will see which processor we put in it, I know I have the receipt in the file. Let me also add that the 5000US is only good for surfing the internet, if that. I was using it last year - gave hubby the newer Compaq 8000z, I could not stand it; it was so slow. That's when we ended up building mine. The 5000 would take a long time to do anything if I had more than 2 windows open.