Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:33 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: barely-active cooling method
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:28 am 

I'm just beginning to take an interest in OC-ing, and I've noticed that active cooling seems to be important. Also, that it often involves water (cold, of course) very close to the electronics, which is spooky. Also, there are at least 2 heatsinks necessary, and soon when SLI is mandatory for cutting edge games, we will all need 2 GPU active heatsinks plus the CPU, and perhaps memory, chipset, so on ad povertum. So I was thinking, why not cool a bunch of air, de-humidify it and blow it into the case as is normally done to room temp air in the traditional setup? Except, in this case, we'd be blowing in air that's maybe 5 or 10 C instead of 20 or 25...Obviously, this would effect on-die temp much less dramatically than applying ice water almost directly through very heat-conductive copper or aluminium, but it would also completely avoid the risk of leakage, and I'm guessing it could easily lower temps enough for all projects short of this:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/sho ... ge=1&pp=25
(not mine!)
I mean really, operating temps below 30C are just not necessary, right? And chip creep is not just the result of HIGH temperature, but of drastic temperature fluctuation, so ideally we would like to cool the components only to the EXACT operating temperature that they will be when power is off.
I know one of MaxPC's rigs of the month was built in a refrigerator, and overclocked, but I also seem to recall that the builder had a lot of challenges with moisture. What I have in mind is just venting some refrigerated air at the intake duct, and there may as well be a bunch of silica packs involved. Any suggestions, and especially personal experience with this general approach, would be much appreciated.
Sorry for the length of this post. In future, I'll try to be more thorough.
:wink:

Post subject: