Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 1:02 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Where is the best site for configuring an AMD computer?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:01 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:48 pm
Posts: 14
Location: La Crescenta
Where is the best site for configuring an AMD computer? I have a maximum budget of $2500. (Please dont say Alienware cuz it is too expensive) And would anyone like to help me on what parts to get? I am a total noob at this becuase I am only a 9th grader and the last time a got a computer was about six years ago. (Six years ago...my dad got ripped off because he went to a private seller and the seller kept convincing my dad to spend more money) I don't want that to happen again and I am currently researching for the best parts for my uses. I plan to use the new computer for about 4-6 years so I am futur-proofing it. I only use computers for chatting/moderate gaming/internet surfing/word processing/etc... Does anyone have any specs that would help me? And before you guys forget...Where is the best site for configuring an AMD computer? Please...anyone who is experienced in this kind of stuff...please help me. :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:06 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
right here at monarch computers. they make killer systems at great prices. you can also get some stuff there before you can get it from sites like newegg or zipzoomfly. other good places to configure AMD based systems are ibuypower and cyberpowerinc. both of which have very low prices but are a half step down in build quality/bundle as compared to monarch.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:16 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
www.voodoo.com
expenssive as hell though


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:19 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
if alienware was too expensive for him forget voodoo.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:31 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
gramaton cleric wrote:
if alienware was too expensive for him forget voodoo.
haha, im a dumbass for not actually reading his post.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:32 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:48 pm
Posts: 14
Location: La Crescenta
gramaton cleric wrote:
if alienware was too expensive for him forget voodoo.


Agree with that...Monarch is pretty good but now all I need some specs and some advice on what parts to get for my computer. Anyone experienced have any advice/specs for me? (remember i am going to use this computer for 4-6 years so it needs to be future-proofed.)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:33 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
athlon11 wrote:
gramaton cleric wrote:
if alienware was too expensive for him forget voodoo.
haha, im a dumbass for not actually reading his post.


:lol: well afterall, this guy is just a kid, he doesnt need a voodoo :lol:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:34 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
future proofing is impossible, but a 6800gt, a 3500+, 1gb ram, and a 250gb hdd seem to be a good start.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:34 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
on a socket 939 board of course.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:36 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
gramaton cleric wrote:
on a socket 939 board of course.
i dont think there is a 3500+ for socket 754.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:39 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:48 pm
Posts: 14
Location: La Crescenta
okay guys.... i was thinking :
AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 Processor

Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe Motherboard

ATI Radeon 9800 Pro Video Card

1 gig ram .... i dont know wut company...any suggestions?

Maxtor DiamondMax 10 300GB Hard Drive

NEC ND-3500A Dual Layer DVD±RW Writer

Dell 2001FP Grey 20.1" LCD Monitor (maybe just a 19inch)

Silverstone Nimiz TJ03 (case)

Any more stuff you guys suggest?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:45 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
athlon11 wrote:
gramaton cleric wrote:
on a socket 939 board of course.
i dont think there is a 3500+ for socket 754.


there isnt, another case of not reading a post :roll:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:47 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
jstakid012 wrote:
okay guys.... i was thinking :
AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 Processor

Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe Motherboard

ATI Radeon 9800 Pro Video Card

1 gig ram .... i dont know wut company...any suggestions?

Maxtor DiamondMax 10 300GB Hard Drive

NEC ND-3500A Dual Layer DVD±RW Writer

Dell 2001FP Grey 20.1" LCD Monitor (maybe just a 19inch)

Silverstone Nimiz TJ03 (case)

Any more stuff you guys suggest?


this system looks great. the only things i'd upgrade would be the video card. at least get a 6800. take an inch off that monitor and put that money towards a better video card. everything else looks great. wait..... you cant get a 9800 pro to work with that mobo. duh :!: you need to select a videocard that is PCI-Express.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:49 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:48 pm
Posts: 14
Location: La Crescenta
wut do u mean about the PCI express video card? and which is a pretty good PCI express card?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:50 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Look at the PREBUILT COMPUTERS section of this thread filled with links - Click Me


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:50 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
PCI-Express is a special bus found on the motherboard which next-generation videocards use. the old AGP bus is what older cards are on. the 9800pro is AGP, the mobo you pointed out is PCI-Express. i'd get a 6600GT PCI-Express version. and with that motherboard you can put two of the same card in and get ~150% the performance.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:53 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:48 pm
Posts: 14
Location: La Crescenta
gramaton cleric wrote:
PCI-Express is a special bus found on the motherboard which next-generation videocards use. the old AGP bus is what older cards are on. the 9800pro is AGP, the mobo you pointed out is PCI-Express. i'd get a 6600GT PCI-Express version. and with that motherboard you can put two of the same card in and get ~150% the performance.


....so....which TWO PCI cards should i use? and how much more expensive is that?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:54 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
you dont HAVE to use two. for now i would use just ONE PCI-Express 6600GT


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:57 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:48 pm
Posts: 14
Location: La Crescenta
How about getting one of the nvidia 6800 series? which should i get? (not Ultra....too expensive) the 6800 or the 6800GT ???


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 5:04 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 614
Location: Canadian Poop Land
i would get the 6800gt is you can afford it, you should get ocz revison.2 platinum ram.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group