Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 6:27 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 2500+ Barton at 209FSB and locked 11x multi randomly reboots
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 1:22 pm 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5200
Hey all.

I have had this thing overclocked for a long time now, probably over 6 months, but recently it's been having problems.

It all started with HL2. The game would play fine for a while and then the machine would randomly reboot. This was last January.

Over time those once-a-week-while-playing-HL2 reboots became more common.

Recently I brought the FSB up from 200 to 209, and the problems grew worse.

I'm thinking that I have a bad PSU. My PSU is a generic 520watt.

Here are my voltages as seen in PC Wizard 2004:

Vcore: 1.68 V
Vcore1: 2.85 V
+3.3V: 3.34 V
+5V: 5.11V
+12V: 11.8V

They look fine to me, and they have been pretty stable. Other than that I don't know what the problem could be.

Oh, and one more thing, it seems my Abit NF7-S won't go any higher in the FSB than 209mhz, even though it allows me to select 210, it won't actually use 210.

Dan O.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 1:27 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Belboz, have you checked for a heat issue? You fold 24/7 on this rig, correct? It may be time to dust out the fans, clean off the heatsink and CPU, and reapply some Arctic Silver 5.

Are the reboots only occuring in HL2 or are there any other symptoms? Checked your event logs?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 1:34 pm 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5200
One4yu2c wrote:
Belboz, have you checked for a heat issue? You fold 24/7 on this rig, correct? It may be time to dust out the fans, clean off the heatsink and CPU, and reapply some Arctic Silver 5.

Are the reboots only occuring in HL2 or are there any other symptoms? Checked your event logs?


One4yu2c, I don't think it's a heat issue. The highest the temps have gone is 48C, most people say that to keep an XP stable during an oc you need to keep it below 55C.

I clean the fans and HSF regularly, in fact, I just did it last January.

The reboots are no longer just HL2, though HL2 is when they first started to appear.

I've got this at 208mhz FSB now, and it hasn't rebooted in the hour that it's been up, but at 209mhz FSB it rebooted twice in 2 hours.

Where's that setting to show the blue screen instead of automatically rebooting? Perhaps I can narrow down the cause by setting that option.

Thanks,
Dan O.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 1:40 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
- Right click My Computer and select Properties
- Advanced tab
- Under Startup and Recovery, click on Settings
- Under System Failure, uncheck Automatically Restart

Check your event logs as well. Click Start, Run, and type eventvwr.msc and it will take you right there.

Finally, it would be worth running Memtest86 to see if your RAM has simply crapped out on you. And of course, it certainly wouldn't hurt to invest in a quality PSU as planned, regardless of whether it turns out to be the culprit or not.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:45 pm 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5200
One4yu2c wrote:
- Right click My Computer and select Properties
- Advanced tab
- Under Startup and Recovery, click on Settings
- Under System Failure, uncheck Automatically Restart

Check your event logs as well. Click Start, Run, and type eventvwr.msc and it will take you right there.

Finally, it would be worth running Memtest86 to see if your RAM has simply crapped out on you. And of course, it certainly wouldn't hurt to invest in a quality PSU as planned, regardless of whether it turns out to be the culprit or not.


Okay, I changed the setting.

I can't find any error logs that describe my problem.

I ran Memtest a couple days ago for 2 passes with 0 errors.

Yeah, I plan on getting new PSU as soon as I get a job.

Edit: And oh yeah, FAH borked on me, luckily I had a backup.

Thanks,
Dan O.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 3:58 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
Belboz99 wrote:
Okay, I changed the setting.

I can't find any error logs that describe my problem.

I ran Memtest a couple days ago for 2 passes with 0 errors.

Yeah, I plan on getting new PSU as soon as I get a job.

Edit: And oh yeah, FAH borked on me, luckily I had a backup.

Thanks,
Dan O.


More passes. Try a couple of hours.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:19 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Well, shoulda got a Northwood... :lol:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:34 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
ever think your poor old dog 2500+ has had enough of an overclock at 100% usage for an eternity of time in pc terms. just to leave it running non stop at 100% for a long time is rough, but with an OC as well? is there any documentation on the long-temr effects of folding. is anyone still folding with a p2 that they's had going non-stop since its purchase as a new proc? i'd say your processor could be burnt out. can ou pop it out and look at it? are those little valley things on the outside browm or green part of the cpu a little black around the edges?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:41 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
What Gramaton Cleric is saying is that Intel makes a stronger chip, especially when it comes to handling games - see, shoulda gone with a Northwood. :P

Somebody pass me a cold one as I wait for a catch...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 6:14 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:14 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: I'm Not sure
i had an asus board and it HATED to go over 209 FSB, my Epox 8RDA6+ Pro is sitting @ 220FSB rock solid. and i think my Asus board had the same chipset as your abit board, the epox's is a little different


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:32 pm 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5200
Hey guys, I think I might have an answer to the riddle.

About 6 months ago my northbridge fan started making a lot of noise, so I unplugged it.

I still haven't replaced the damn thing. :lol:

Dan O.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:50 am 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
One4yu2c wrote:
What Gramaton Cleric is saying is that Intel makes a stronger chip, especially when it comes to handling games - see, shoulda gone with a Northwood. :P

Somebody pass me a cold one as I wait for a catch...

:lol: , think you could pass me a cold one.

Belboz99 wrote:
Hey guys, I think I might have an answer to the riddle.

About 6 months ago my northbridge fan started making a lot of noise, so I unplugged it.

I still haven't replaced the damn thing. :lol:

Dan O.
:lol: well that would do it you tard :roll: put a big cpu cooler on it so you can overclock to like 3ghz


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 6:41 am 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5200
Man, it's gonna cost me $15 to replace that damn thing. That's not in my budget right now. :(

Of course, I think I just might get this job today. :D

Dan O.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 7:41 am 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Put ice cubes on it as a temporary solution ;)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:29 am 
SON OF A GUN
SON OF A GUN
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:41 am
Posts: 11605
Belboz99 wrote:
Man, it's gonna cost me $15 to replace that damn thing. That's not in my budget right now. :(

Of course, I think I just might get this job today. :D

Dan O.


I bought a chipset cooler pack from CompUSA for 10 bucks... it had 2 heat sinks (north and south bridge I assume) and a cooling fan that would fit the northbridge (i think, the holes that were predrilled on my mobo were not far enough apart) it did fit my GeForce 2 perfectly though.

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group