Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 1:53 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Have you taken the 64-bit plunge?
Yes 37%  37%  [ 7 ]
No 63%  63%  [ 12 ]
Total votes : 19
Author Message
 Post subject: 64-bit Plunge
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:57 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:31 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Winbuck, Canada
I've decided to take the 64-bit plunge. I'm looking for a mobo + cpu. I can only spend a max of 400 bucks. I was looking at the Gigabyte GAK8VT800 and ATHLON 64 2800+. Or is there something better out there for under $400?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:21 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:16 pm
Posts: 3600
I got a socket 754 asus k8n and 2800+ for $225.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:25 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 433
Location: wandering the abyss
i didn't take it to get 64-bit capabilities, i wanted a good gaming comp and athlon 64 kicks ass in benches


newegg.com prices

ECS "KN1 Extreme" NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket 939 CPU -RETAIL
$105

AMD Athlon 64 3000+, 512KB L2 Cache, Socket 939 64-bit Processor - Retail
$155

total $260

this mobo seems awsome it has dual gigabit lan, PCIe, 4 SATAII and 2 SATA headers, and look at the cooling solution.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 4:52 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:31 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Winbuck, Canada
does the K8N need registered RAM?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 5:00 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
Nope.

Remember: Only s940 processors require Registered RAM.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 5:49 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 614
Location: Canadian Poop Land
do you have an agp vid card or pcie? if agp you cant get the nforce 4...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 6:00 pm 
M-Powered
M-Powered
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:36 am
Posts: 2504
Location: Nürburgring
By 64bit plunge, do you mean having a 64bit processor run 32bit code?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 7:21 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:31 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Winbuck, Canada
i have a AGP card...and by 64-bit plunge i mean upgrading my mobo and CPU to 64-bit


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 7:28 pm 
M-Powered
M-Powered
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:36 am
Posts: 2504
Location: Nürburgring
polish-fish wrote:
by 64-bit plunge i mean upgrading my mobo and CPU to 64-bit

Yeah, I figured that much, but what's the point if your OS and software is 32bit... It's too early. You should have other reasons to spend the cash on an Athlon64, like gaming performance, not the fact that it's 64bit instead of 32...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 8:30 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:31 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Winbuck, Canada
im not just doing it to say that i have a 64-bit proc. I do game alot and my athlon xp 2100+ just cant cut it for the newer games.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 8:57 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 433
Location: wandering the abyss
what vid card do you have?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 8:59 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:31 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Winbuck, Canada
i have a GeForce FX 5200


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:05 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:31 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Winbuck, Canada
actually i've changed my mind. I'm going to get the Asus K8N-E mobo with the Athlon 64 3000+. Any thing better for under $400?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 11:13 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:16 pm
Posts: 3600
polish-fish wrote:
actually i've changed my mind. I'm going to get the Asus K8N-E mobo with the Athlon 64 3000+. Any thing better for under $400?


What does the K8N-E have that justifies spending the $20 more over the regular K8N?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:35 am 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 9:06 pm
Posts: 1508
Location: Mother/Daughterboard Orgy
_alex911 wrote:
polish-fish wrote:
actually i've changed my mind. I'm going to get the Asus K8N-E mobo with the Athlon 64 3000+. Any thing better for under $400?


What does the K8N-E have that justifies spending the $20 more over the regular K8N?


An "E."


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 12:05 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:31 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Winbuck, Canada
more SATA ports, dual raid, firewire....better coolness?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 6:44 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 614
Location: Canadian Poop Land
get this mobo instead, cdn site also!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 6:51 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:31 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Winbuck, Canada
iwould get that one, but its socket 939...i dont want to have to buy registered RAM


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 7:01 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 614
Location: Canadian Poop Land
you only need registered ram for s940. not s939. if you want proof go the site i linked in previous post and go to specs and you will see it says 184 pinn un-buffered ram


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 7:13 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:16 pm
Posts: 3600
You do not need registered ram for 754 or 939.

If you do go to 939 get a kt880 or an nforce 3 for agp.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mistersprinkles and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.