Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 10:35 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Asus P5AD2 and memory
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 6:00 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 5:52 pm
Posts: 35
I am building a new PC and have choosen this mobo which will use a P4 660 CPU. my question is that I want to be able to upgrade to 4GB of DDR 2 memory in the long run so I need to start off with some memory until I can afford to get to my goal. here is my question. can I install 1 - 1GB stick of memory leaving the other three slots open for slow upgrades over the next 6-12 months or do I have to install the sticks in pairs? I really do not want to put in 2 -512GB sticks and have to replace them down the line.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 8:51 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
You really need all of that RAM?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:04 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 5:52 pm
Posts: 35
Not yet but I like the ability to upgrade to it if I do find the need for it. I will be getting into 3-D designing of golf courses in the future and I am currently doing video editing. I really do not like to waste good money on 512mb sticks now if I do not have to. I know that 2gb would do for probably the next year but do not want to be hamstrung at just that amount.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:24 am 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
the benefit of getting two sticks is to run in dual-channel mode. if you have the money, probably you can get 2gigs right now. check out www.newegg.com for the good deals.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 8:50 am 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
movin-on-up wrote:
Not yet but I like the ability to upgrade to it if I do find the need for it. I will be getting into 3-D designing of golf courses in the future and I am currently doing video editing. I really do not like to waste good money on 512mb sticks now if I do not have to. I know that 2gb would do for probably the next year but do not want to be hamstrung at just that amount.


In that case, screw Dual-Channel - for now. Your system would still operate fine without it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 4:10 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 5:52 pm
Posts: 35
Thats what I was thinking and hopeing. I would rather put the extra money for the cost of a second GB stick into a video card or large sata hard drive to start off with. I could deal with single channel for about 6 months while I get everything set up and running.

Thanks for the info


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 4:56 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 7:43 pm
Posts: 1252
Location: You are a suck.
Yeah you should be fine running 1GB sticks of something like Corsair Value RAM or another cheaper brand like Geil. You would have no problem upgrading in the future.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group